We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Railway Station Hotel

The Railway Station Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Port St Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Railway Station Hotel. We serve a great range of fresh home cooked dishes to suit all tastes and budgets. Should you be hungry, you are sure to find something to satisfy your appetite from our selection of tasty appetisers and delicious main courses, all prepared from fresh local produce where possible. Accompanied with a glass of chilled white wine or a full bodied red, it's a great place to finish off a countryside walk or spend a relaxing afternoon with friends and family. Our New Menu includes traditional favourites such as, Steak and Ale Pie and Beer Battered Cod & Chips or you can enjoy our Restaurant Menu which focuses on locally caught Seafood and a variety of Seasonal Manx ingredients, then finish off with our Dessert Menu, specialising in our Homemade ice creams and fresh fruit sorbets. On Sundays we run a selection of Specials which includes a Carvery Style Roast Dinner, which is served between 12 noon and 8pm
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the food. Staff attentive and friendly. Eat in the bar or the restaurant. We ate in the bar with a lovely log fire. Give it a try-we will go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneWalkerIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Value Steak Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Enjoyed the weekend steak night.
Well presented and tasteful steak dinner cooked to perfection with a delicious sauce. Very good value with a bottle of wine included. Followed by excellent desserts.
Check it out - we will be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly pub at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I took the kids for Sunday lunch and we had a fantastic meal. Great portions and plenty of choice. Kids had free drinks and ice cream and were so well looked after. Bar and table staff are very friendly and really made us feel welcome.
The open fire was lit and we didn't want to go home. Bar / child policy and times is excellent and is real plus. A definite family pub but comes to life later in the evening too. Great selection of bands playing as well which would attract me back in an evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The pub side of The Station was a pleasant surprise - welcoming, warm and newly refurbished. The place is comfortable and the open fire is a nice feature. We had booked for a meal and after ordering went to the restaurant. What a shame the same atmosphere has not been continued into this side of the building. It is refurbished but is soleless and characterless. If you eat here - stay in the bar. The food itself was okay - not all fresh cooked, but acceptable and reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMc383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We went for sunday lunch. The restaurant is adjacient to a picturesque railway station in Port St Mary.

The pub was newly refurbished and the decor was attractive and atmospheric in a traditional style.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed a local 'Busheys' beer. The wines started at £15.95, and we selected a Sauvignon Blanc.

The crab claws were beautifully presented and were tasty.

The roast beef, roast potatoes and trimmings were good and reasonably priced.

The food was well presented, however the vegetables, which were served seperately, were overcooked , and the duck, although pink, was rubbery and unappealing.

The cheese board was good and well priced, and this was followed with a delicious cappuccino.

The bill for three courses and wine for two came to £55.

In summary we enjoyed the lunch but felt the food was a drop in culinary standards compared to the previous management.

Helpful?
Thank joandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway Station Hotel also viewed

Port St Mary, Isle of Man
 
Castletown, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 
Port St Mary, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Railway Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing