We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballahane House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Port St Mary
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Admiral House(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
22
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We were made to feel very welcome, just like being part of the family!

One evening we went with Julie to see the local Rushen Silver Band, which was great - we wouldn't have known about this event otherwise.

The food was great and David and Julie always very helpful and friendly, the room was very good and comfortable - to cap it all we had a great view of the local headland Bradda Head from our bathroom window.

It wasn't just us who liked it here, the other guests had been before and were full of praise for the Hotel

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank NewForestAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

What a fantastic few days we had. Tired when we got there but such a warm welcome from Julie, Every comfort you need for a relaxing break. Breakfast was fabulous especially the local kippers cooked with tender loving care by David. Comfortable bedroom, more than adequate bathroom, our own lounge and the garden an absolute pleasure (they've got a good gardener - David!).
Its an ideal location for a few days of good Golf handy for the I.O.M. Golf Courses (we got a friendly welcome there too).
The very best thing about Ballahane House were Julie and David - lovely folk who will always go the extra mile to make your stay as perfect as ours was. We're back there as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Inkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Looking for an excellent standard of accommodation, a warm welcome, superb service, wonderful breakfasts and hosts who go that extra mile? Then look no further than Ballahane House. We'd checked out the website and were looking for good quality and comfortable accommodation for a short break. We weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, our hosts Julie and David couldn't have been more helpful. The house has recently been finished to an extremely high standard with delightful furnishings and high spec fittings and is a testament to Julie and David's eye for detail. We can recommend the Blue room but were shown all the others and each were of the same high specification. There was a very wide choice for breakfast (cooked, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, toast and more) and the full Manx has got to be experieced at least once! As it was our first visit to the Island, Julie was full of useful advice and able to point us in the right direction to get the most from the visit. When we had a spare moment we were able to relax in their own lounge, with tea and cakes in front of the open fire and felt completely at home. This is their skill - to make you feel at ease and at home in their home. The weather precluded us sitting in the garden or playing croquet but this was another delightful option. We've spent a number of short breaks in guest houses and this was the best. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DorsetColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

Ballahane House was our first exposure to the Isle of Man. The damp and grey evening we arrived was quickly forgotten in the warmth of the welcome we received from Julie and David including a roaring log fire and hot drinks in the residents own lounge. The ensuite room was well appointed and we were made to feel as if this was our own home away from home. David's fresh Manx Kippers for breakfast set us up nicely for the day and Julie carefully marked our map with places to see and eat. A lovely experience and one which we intend to repeat.
Ray and Pat Hoare, Chislehurst, Kent

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank RayHChislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We have had many holidays in the Isle of Man, including several very enjoyable stays in Mr and Mrs Maddrell's sister property, Ballahane Cottage. When we saw the new catered accomodation offered at Ballahane House we were very keen to try it out and we were absolutely delighted by our 'country house' experience. The bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms had been stylishly designed and furnished with our comfort as a priority. Freshly cooked breakfast was delicious, served in the elegant dining room and gave us a great start to the day. On our return, afternoon tea could be requested in the lounge in front of a roaring log fire. Although we have stayed on the Isle of Man many times, Mr and Mrs Maddrell had plenty of advice for us on places to visit and different restaurants for the evenings.The whole house had a very stylish and tasteful feel to it and throughout our four day stay, we were made to feel very special and that nothing was too much trouble. We have already booked to return in the autumn of 2007.
In summary, this house offers a unique atmosphere of both elegance and comfort. It's better to have a car although the buses run regularly and in summer there are the steam trains which are great fun.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orrelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews