We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful manageress”
Review of Laird & Dog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laird & Dog Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Lasswade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This small hotel is an attractive old coaching inn on one of the main roads from Bonnyrigg into Edinburgh, with a good and frequent bus connection (the 31 stops right opposite the inn and takes about ½ hour). There is a pleasant walk into the park area opposite the inn and up round the village. There are also a number of very good attractions a short car ride away (e.g. Vogrie Country Park and the Mining Museum). So the location is better than the actual facilities in my view.
The L&D's rooms are quite small, especially as they now contain en suite facilities. There was a bit of a foul up with our booking and we ended up having to move but were put, 'upgraded', in the family room (itself pretty small) but also offered a discount, which we appreciated as we had not asked for it. While the decor is undeniably a bit 'tired', the beds were comfy, the bedding and other provisions all fine and the shower perfectly acceptable.
The breakfast is less varied than at a larger establishment but there was a decent choice of cereals and yoghurts, as well as cooked - certainly enough food and calories to kick off the day. The cooked breakfast varied a little in quality, even with the same chef (!) but the manageress was really welcoming and helpful on all of our 4 days. We did not try the main meals, which are very reasonably priced and decent (or so I heard from relatives). Sadly, I failed to try the bar, especially when I looked through the whisky selection when paying our bill.

Room Tip: As an old coaching inn, one is by the road or car park, where some deliveries were noisy, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at Laird & Dog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback

All feedback will be looked into in order to make the guest experience as great as it can be.
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights.We were four guys staying for the British Open.This was our fourth stay.The staff were friendly and attentive.Great variety of beers etc,at good prices.and the food was spot on .Especially the haggis breakfast.The rooms could do with a little updating,but we had clean towels,bedding etc.The situation is perfect for Edinburgh.By bus £1.50 per person,or taxi £3.50 each.
We shall look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at Laird & Dog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to get feedback whether positive or negative, then we can address any issues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

1st time staying here and we booked thought late rooms. Needed someone cheap for The royal highland show. Good food, great access to Edinburgh (bus stop right outside), small rooms but clean, friendly staff, free off road parking. It was quite noisey with the road right outside but didn't bother either of us and we are used to living in the country. Would stay again. Fine for a few nights

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at Laird & Dog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thanks for the review guys, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and always appreciate the feedback that our guests provide us.

If we could do anything about the traffic we would, remember if you dont see anything on laterooms just contact us directly and we will try our best to help you out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed here before a few months ago and were delighted with the service and the food as well as the accomodation.
Because we left it so late, we could only get a twin room - it was spotlessly clean and well aired a we were in the middle of a heatwave - we also had the fan going through the night.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the one drawback being the speed of the free wifi which meant my computer was deemed almost useless.
We dined in the hotel and the steak sandwiches were delicious, well cooked and well served.
We got a laterooms deal - we will be looking out for this hotel next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at Laird & Dog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Firstly thanks for the lovely review, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Its always good to know we are keeping our guests happy!

we look forward to having you staying with us again, if there isnt any deals online just contact the hotel directly and we will see if we have anything we can do for you!

Thanks again from all the team at The Laird & Dog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Situated in a convenient location for exploring nearby Edinburgh, this is an interesting little inn. It is easy to find and has free parking in the large car park. Also fee wi-fi. The food is good, especially the breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was at the front, overlooking a very busy road. It was VERY small, and due to the hot weather, stifling. We were given a fan to cool the room down, but it had little effect, so had to keep the windows open. With the hum of the fan plus the constant noise of traffic, we had no sleep. The ensuite was tatty, a small plastic shower cubicle, weak shower, no towel rails. We had booked for 2 nights, but 1 was enough. We also felt that at £90 a night it was ridiculously over-priced. Thankfully, we were given a reduction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at Laird & Dog Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are currently looking into the issues that you addressed in your comments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great food in the bar , room 8 noisy to traffic , busy road all night , great for business trip and cheap ness , The well in the floor interesting to read about and the history about it , One of bar ladys could do with a smiling face

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found this accommodation through an online booking site and were so happy we did! The staff were all so friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast, and the location could not have been more convenient. Our room was at the front of the Inn which is situated on a very busy road, but with the window closed we did not find the noise disturbing. It might be different with the window open. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable. The ensuite facilities were more than adequate, especially considering the fact that this is a very old and fascinating Inn, but don't expect an ultra modern bathroom.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasswade
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Ceres Guest House
Mount Ceres Guest House
#2 of 5 in Lasswade
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greenlees Lodge
Greenlees Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lasswade
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Laird & Dog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laird & Dog Hotel

Address: 5 High Street, Lasswade EH18 1NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Lasswade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lasswade
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laird and Dog, Lasswade is a popular bar restaurant and inn with accommodation near Edinburgh.Relax and enjoy your stay at the Laird and Dog in one of our 11 comfortable and welcoming first floor bedrooms. You can be assured of a great night’s sleep, excellent hospitality, together with modern styled en-suite accommodation.We have a mix of double, twin, single and family rooms and after a great night’s sleep you are treated to a full Scottish breakfast. If you wish something lighter we have that too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Laird & Dog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laird And Dog Hotel
Laird & Dog Hotel Lasswade, Midlothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing