We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esk Valley Table Table

Esk Valley Table Table
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Lasswade
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Using seasonal ingredients, Table Table - Esk Valley boasts a menu of traditional pub dishes. Varied sharing platters are served alongside tempting nibbles and British favourites. Hearty breakfasts are also available for early risers, while sensational desserts bring something sweet to the Table Table menu. Enjoy a glass of flavoursome wine or refreshing beer from the bar, or indulge in a classic cocktail in the snug and inviting pub restaurant.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went at lunch time and it was very quiet. The staff were polite and helpful. We ate from the specials menu which was very cheap and you got large platefuls and the food was really hot. The only thing I felt that it was a bit tasteless even the tarter sauce was not as 'zingy'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    76
    57
    42
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family birthday meal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family visited the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon for a birthday meal.The tables were booked by telephone for thirteen.A mixture of children and adults.Despite all arriving on time it was at least thirty minutes before a food order was taken.We had already given a drinks order at the bar ourselves.When our order was taken for starters and they eventually arrived not everyone was served at the same time .There was a delay again when some diners eating and some still waiting.To add to the problems the food was mostly cold.We then waited ages for the table to be cleared and main courses served, at least one hour.The main courses that arrived were also cold, probably due to the fact the plates were cold.After this dismal service my wife and i decided not to order a sweet as we had no idea when it was likely to arrive.This had to be the worst meal and service we ever had.As an invited guest i at least was spared the bill.Had i been presented with the bill i would most definately have complained.Will never go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shosta1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than the average motel pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Many low cost hotels have a pub attached serving a fairly standard menu. This one does it better than most.

Service was very good, friendly and helpful witrhout being over-attentive.

The menu was pretty standard for this type of place but well cooked.

You can't expect too much from this type of establishment (they are not locals pubs, restaurants or hotels) but this one is as good as they come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrick_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The service and quality were excellent, staff were friendly and helpful. Menu had plenty of choice and the portions were good enough for a good appetite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Table Table was ok – the staff worked hard and were polite. We dined on the Sunday evening of the Bank Holiday and would be expected, it was busy and many of the diners were locals which is always a good sign. Our meal was average in comparison to the previous Premier Inn restaurants we have dined at. We were given a separate limited menue as we were on the meal deal. Our starter was mushrooms in breadcrumbs with a blue cheese sauce – the sauce was very watery and disappointing. Our May Day breakfast experience was not so good with there being only two members of staff serving all the tables and we waited some 15 minutes before we approached the staff to take our order – the food was ok. This was the standard buffet option however due to limited staff the side plates for the toast, the bread itself and the fresh fruit were not checked often enough and ran out. Whilst the restaurant did advertise Costa coffee – the coffee served did not taste like Costa? If you are tired at the end of a long days travelling then the Table Table is ok however I would recommend Dobbie garden centre located nearby which is much better value, quality and choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank harry248141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esk Valley Table Table also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 
Lasswade, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
 

Been to Esk Valley Table Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing