We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun first stop”
Review of The Laird and Dog

The Laird and Dog
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Lasswade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun first stop”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stumbled upon this looking for our hotel. The service was okay, the food was okay but it's cute from the outside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonesRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at The Laird and Dog, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for commenting about the Laird.

We shall see you next time you stumble on us, why not give us try in the hotel.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    98
    40
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, decent atmosphere ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here last night, a Saturday night. We had the muscles and the steak pie and we were both very satisfied. Price was what you would expect and service was fine.

If I was to be critical then whilst the waitresses were efficient, they did seem a little fed up; but maybe that was just me!

We sat in the conservatory which was a very comfortable place to eat.

Overall a nice meal, good beer and good atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank ERBThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Laird and Dog, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for you feedback regarding your recent visit to the Laird, we are glad you enjoyed it.
I will pass the feedback onto the team that were working on the night of your visit.

Once again

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wee local gem ...”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We dined here on 07.08.14, we had previously been a few years back but what a transformation the Laird&Dog has had. The waitress/waiter were both polite and attentive, the menu had a variety to suit different tastes - for mains; my dad had the haggis neeps and tatties, my partner had a gourmet burger and Chips and my mum and I had the chicken balmoral with chips (instead of potatoes- we asked to change) and broccoli. Everyone of us enjoyed our meal and couldn't fault a thing - DELICIOUS! We did ask to move tables as we were sitting in the conservatory, I'm quite pale skinned and I was getting sunburn! The waiter made no deal of us moving and said yeh just where ever you'd like ... Once moved we had pudding; dad-lemon tart, partner-chocolate fudge cake and my mum and me - cookie stack I swear there wasn't a drop left on any of our plates. Honestly try it for yourself I'm sure it won't disappoint!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ca231209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Laird and Dog, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for leaving the great feedback regarding your last visit.

It is always good to hear our Guests views and I will pass on your feedback to the team.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fantastic yet again”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

popped in last Friday for dinner and the new menu did not disappoint.. still great food, good value and cracking atmosphere...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBiggles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Laird and Dog, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your previous visit.

I will pass it on to the team to tell them how much you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay and eat”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Don't normally leave reviews usually complain at the time However I must say our time at The Laird was very enjoyable the staff helpful and very pleasant.Oh yeah the food was brill.A very pleasing experience will visit again.Thanks Adam for the advise ref busses

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Laird and Dog, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent visit.

I will pass it on to the team to tell them how much you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Laird and Dog also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
 

Been to The Laird and Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing