We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming and lovely surroundings .”
Review of Dunesk Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lasswade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunesk Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Lasswade B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Being our first visit to the area ,we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely this B &B was . The rooms were spotlessly clean and had all facilities that you would need including a beautiful new and modern bathroom.
Marjorie out host was so friendly and accommodating , and breakfast went down a treat .
I wouldn't hesitate to visit again and would recommend .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tramilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

The proprietrix of Dunesk Lodge is of the old school - not by virtue of age you understand, but more that of providing an old-fashioned, excellent service in all departments. The setting of the B&B is beautifully rural but within a surprisingly short hop to the centre of Scotland's capital and the accommodation is faultless. All expectations are met until breakfast - a proper Scottish one which in terms of quality completely exceeded normal standards. I would have no hesitation in recommending Dunesk Lodge which is a real, hidden gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Dunesk Lodge set amidst endless acres of garden and pastures, perfectly combines a historic appearance with all comforts of modern life. Despite its picturesque rural location, it is close to all Edinburgh and Midlothian attractions. The bus station, offering a regular service to Scotland’s capital, is only a few meters away, making Dunesk Lodge the ideal retreat for tourists and business travelers alike. Enjoy its tranquility and peace to recharge your batteries for the next day’s adventures!

All attractively and at the same time highly functionally furnished bedrooms are fully equipped with superior, immaculately clean en suite facilities. Can you think of a better way to end an active day out than with a hot (!!!!) bath and cosy pre-warmed towels?

Every guest is greeted with the warmest welcome you can wish for. Dunesk Lodge is not only famed for its cordial atmosphere, but also renowned for its home-made breakfast! Every possible care is taken to cater to guests' individual requirements and preferences. Marjorie’s cooking is second to none and cannot be beat, neither in quality nor quantity. Indulge yourself! It is a treat! You will not regret it.

We first came to Dunesk Lodge to arrange our wedding in Scotland and have been so captivated by the lovely house and its charming hostess; we instantly made it our “headquarters”. We highly appreciated Marjorie’s vast knowledge of the area, and so will you. Be it sports, theater, museums, sightseeing, shopping, eating out, just ask Marjorie. You can count on her support! Staying at Dunesk Lodge is like being home from home! And we will always be coming back….

Stop searching! You won’t find a better place to stay! You will love it just as we do!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at this beautiful cottage for my graduation in November and really enjoyed my stay there. The room is very cosy with all modern facilities and the landlady even put a warming blanket into the bed to keep me warm. Everything was to a very high standard and expecially the bathroom can easily compare with any top class hotel. Anyone coming from the continent will appreciate the landlady's making a great effort to provide an excellent breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and on request the best of the typical 'English breakfast'. I can highly recommend this place - only you should have a satnav to find it - as the cottage is quite hidden and if like me you arrive in the dark. I already look forward to my next stay there :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I've stayed here several times whilst on business and weekends away in Edinburgh. Very relaxing location although only a short bus ride away to the heart of Edinburgh city. Great amenities and attractions in the local area - good restaurants, shops and a butterfly park. Marjorie (the owner) is a great host and offers a good variety of options for a tasty breakfast. The rooms are comfy and warm with views over the garden and horses in the paddock.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geeta2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed there on the 29th of September 2012.
Amazing location, very clean house and the lady that runs the business, Marjorie, is very friendly and nice!
Breakfast was really tasty
The room was big and the bathroom brand new!
Amazing B&B, the best we have stayed ij a long time.
This is a 4 star and deserves all 4 of them

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank katrin423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lasswade hotels
0.5 mi away
Mount Ceres Guest House
Mount Ceres Guest House
#2 of 5 in Lasswade
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laird & Dog Hotel
Laird & Dog Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lasswade
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenlees Lodge
Greenlees Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lasswade
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunesk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunesk Lodge

Address: Dunesk Lodge Green Lane, Lasswade EH18 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Lasswade
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lasswade
Also Known As:
Dunesk Lodge Lasswade, Midlothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing