We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dog friendly stop over for Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Original Rosslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you don't want to go right into Edinburgh and have a dog this is a great place. Super food, we had a very good dinner in the bar and excellent breakfasts. Good car parking space and easy dog walking down to the chapel and footpaths. Welcoming helpful staff . A good restaurant/ pub with rooms.

Room Tip: Chose away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Quaint old style inn.

Staff seem to care and are charming. We Stayed to visit Rosslyn Chapel but found it as a perfect base to explore Edinburgh and surrounding area and ended up extending our stay in Roslin. The Food was delicious and varied.

Not a polished city hotel but make up for this with character and charm. A really authentic product.

If we are back in the area this is where we will be staying. Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is a nice big room it was perfect for our family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple nights and found everything brilliant.
Staff could not have been nicer, room was excellent and food delicious.
Will definitely be returning to this superb hotel in a really lovely village.

Room Tip: Sorry - no fitness centre on pool but I cannot remove these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent two nights at this small comfortable hotel. Management and staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room, Room 1 was very clean and well decorated and furnished. It was lovely to be able to leave the window open throughout the night with no noise to disturb. Breakfast was first class. Will certainly be back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this hotel via a well known hotel booking site because of the location and that fact that it was a 4 Star. On arrival we had to enter the hotel through a small and very busy bar only to find a small desk in a very narrow hallway. The staff soon arrived to take our details and I have got to say all the staff were superb, very friendly and chatty. We were then taken to our room (room 5) only to find it was more like a hostel room than a four star! The decor was aged, wallpaper was coming away from the walls, lights wee out, the TV stand was on the floor, mould around the shower, obstacles outside the door and it was obviously above the kitchen because the smell of cooking was very strong.

The good points were the staff, the bar with its locals and local beer, the adjoining restaurant and the excellent full Scottish breakfast. I have no doubt some other rooms would have been refurbished to a higher level but as there was a wedding ongoing we were told there we re no other rooms available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our time at this charming Inn in the village of Rosslin, just outside Edinburgh. We enjoyed easy access to a convenient bus into Edinburgh, really good meals and a lovely atmosphere.

The only complaint I had was that we found the beds uncomfortable. However, the room was lovely and clean and the staff we very helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was perfect for us, quiet and peaceful yet with very easy bus access to explore Edinburgh. Room was a tad snug, but clean and properly appointed. Breakfast in Conservatory was terrific - staff and proprietor very helpful and welcoming. Evening meals were fantastic...very cumfy little pub and restaurant even catered to and satisfied us vegetarians.

Room Tip: Simply let the proprietor know your likes and desires and you will be accommodated with the right ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandSydBellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslin
4.6 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
0 mi away
Chapel Cross Guesthouse
3.2 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Rosslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Rosslyn Inn

Address: Main Street, Roslin EH25 9LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Roslin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslin
Price Range: £94 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Original Rosslyn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About The Original Rosslyn Inn The Original Rosslyn Inn is an idyllic village inn, set in the romantic village of Roslin, just 8 miles from Edinburgh’s City Centre. This privately owned family-run hotel maintains the character and charm of an old inn while continuing to lead the way in customer service, charm and elegance. Only 12 miles from Edinburgh’s International Airport, this is a perfect base whether you are a tourist, or here on business. Perhaps you are a grail hunter, here to study our famous Rosslyn Chapel set in the beautiful Roslin Glen Country Park and thrust into the global public eye by Dan Brown’s worldwide bestseller The Da Vinci Code. Those here on business will find we are also very close to The Roslin Bio Centre, Edinburgh University’s Royal Dick Veterinary College, The Bush Estate, Bilston Industrial Estate and Straiton Retail Park. Whether it’s business or pleasure – to chase down tourist hot spots or to have a romantic relaxing get-away in our country park The O ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Original Rosslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Rosslyn Inn Roslin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing