We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Cross Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roslin
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Had a Groupon deal for a Steak dinner for two with wine. Phoned mid week to book a table for Friday evening, told they were very busy but could give us a table at 5.45pm. Arrived at 5.45pm the place was deserted,including no staff. Eventually found someonle and ordered drinks, took a table in the lounge area. Ordered starters of Goat's cheese tart with beetroot and salad and husband would have the soup, curried vegetable. Oh goodness, the tart was brick hard, could cut through it as a result the beetroot shot off the plate, now have purple marks on my light trousers!! Neither of us could eat our starters, told the waitress this but she just smiled inanely and took our plates away. Hopefully the steak dinner will be better. Were a bit perplexed that the waitress had not asked how we would like our steaks and couldn't check with her since she had yet again disappeared, was she maybe cooking the steaks! Our main course arrived on those 'sizzle' platters, steak was grey, we had ordered a creamsauce to go with it, it was like no Diane sauce I had ever seen or made! Again, no staff around so ended up going through to the kitchen area, where the waitress tried to tell me that there was nothing wrong with the sauce, oh yes, there is. She would speak to the chef. Waitress brought the slightly better sauce to us after about 7 minutes, no apology. Husband had sirloin, it was tasteless, I had rib-eye, it was awful, chewy and fatty, chips weren't cooked properly, onion rings were soggy, mushrooms hadn't even been cooked. Tomatoes were nice though! We weren't offered our wine, though given what the beer tasted like we weren't really bothered. We left at 6.50pm, leaving the £2 for the sauce on the table, the place was still deserted, no staff and no customers, I don't like being lied to, but at least having attempted to eat at this time we could go home and still make something decent to eat. We live locally so will not be returning and will certainly not be recommending this place to anyone. Not even a Groupon deal made this worthwhile so don't be tempted if it comes up again. Roslin Glen management you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Praa913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Chapel Cross Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Four of us went here recently for a 2 course steak dinner with wine, through a Groupon deal.
I phoned to make our reservation, and spoke to a pleasant man. I asked if it would be possible to have a soft drink or tea instead of wine, and he said that would be fine.
However, the waitress who took our order said we could not do this.. I explained I had been told we could, and was told in no uncertain terms that we couldn't and she was going to have a word with him! I wouldn't have minded so much if she had actually apologised! The Groupon voucher said we could pay extra for venison and fillet steak but they were not on the menu. The waitress said they'd stopped doing them (again, no apology). Her snippy attitude put a dampener on the whole atmosphere right from the start. We all enjoyed our starter, but the stones did not cook our steaks how we like them (really well done). Won't be going back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank MargaretJ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just ate dinner, didn't stay at the hotel, but felt the food was worth the review. Ordered sirloin with chips and onion rings and they managed it perfectly. The beer batter left the prefect taste on the onion rings and the chips were crisp on the outside and soft in the middle, just as they should be. The steak came on a heatet stone so it sizzled and cooked while I ate. When it was perfect, I could move it over to a plate so as not to overdo it - very nice.

The girl who served us got a nice tip too, she was cheerful, service minded and quick.

Locations is good too, on the road to Roslin Chapel so it should get its fair share of tourists. We parked the car on the side of the road, no problem.


NEGATIVE: Nothing

POSITIVE: The food (yum!) and the service

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was a good location to avoid the city traffic and have good access to buses into Edinburgh. The room was pretty and comfortable, but only had a bathtub and no shower. The breakfast was included in our deal and it was very good and made to order. We also had two evening meals and they were very good. The staff were great and addressed any requests we had promptly. It is within walking distance to the Roslyn Chapel which was great to see too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfootcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spent a night here, on Groupon deal. Was a bit put off on arrival at the lack of staff there to check us in, we had to wander round to find someone even in the "staff only" areas, but once we did we got checked in and were given a huge room with double bay windows and king sized bed which was very comfortable. The shower was a bit small, but did the job.

The whole hotel is a bit tired, and could do with an update, but as it is the warts and all was quite charming.

There was a clear lack of staff, and we were mainly assisted by Ali?, who was running around like the proverbial fly, but was always soooo helpful and jolly, and she is a treasure.

Ate in the restaurant in the evening and during the afternoon in the bar and the food was gorgeous, the chef is top notch.

Wouldn't take too much for this hotel to get 5 out of 5. If you want everything ship shape and bristol fashion then you will probably be dissapointed, but if you've an open mind and like to relax in surroundings that are a bit ecclectic then go here :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpybumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Made a booking back in January for an overnight stay in May, using the Groupon deal for afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. When I discovered that the Scottish Cup Final was being held on the same day I contacted the hotel to reserve a table for dinner at 19.30 for myself and for 2 non residents. This was confirmed as being ok. When we arrived at the hotel to check in at 17.45 we were told we could have dinner at 18.30 or 20.30 as they were very busy. I expalined I had reserved a table and again was told that would be fine. We went to our room, which was dismal. No wardrobe, simply a rod across the wall with a curtain across it. A mish mash of furniture, wobbly headboard, sunken bed, all absolutely dreadful. We had a wash, got changed and made our way to the hotel bar, which drastically needs a face lift. We tried to order drinks, one of which was a Baileys and the hotel had none. We therefore went across the road to the original hotel for a drink. We returned to our hotel at 19.20 for our dinner reservation at 19.30 and we were told they were very busy and could we take a seat in the bar until our table was ready. There was a party of 13 people in celebrating a 65th birthday and the hotel appeared to be struggling to cope with the numbers. We waited until 20.30 to be taken through to our dinner table. The food was reasonably okay although one of our dishes (the fish) had to be returned to the kitchen as the batter was raw. During the course of our meal we noticed that many other couples were waiting an extremely long period of time for their meals to be delivered and/or dishes cleared. Once couple had selected a bottle of wine in the bar, when we had been waiting at 20.15 and at 20.50 they were still waiting on their meals. One thing I would say is that the staff waiitng on the tables, bar etc were all very pleasant despite having to deal with quite a few irate customers. My impression was that the hotel had been let down by staffing calling off due to the football and the staff working were not their regular staff. However, the manager never made an appearance and left his/her staff to deal with the consequences. Poor management in my experience. Prior to the end of our meal the waitress asked if we were staying for breakfast and we confirmed that our "deal" included breakfast. She then told us that Groupon had made a mistake and that breakfast was not included and it cost £8.50 pp. I complained that we had not been told about this and when is there ever deals for dinner and bed??? We were then told that the manager would deal with this through Groupon and we could have breakfast included. After our meal we went across the road again to the Original for drinks and returned to our hotel to sleep.
I would seriously advise anyone wishing to stay in this hotel to visit firsta nd see excatly what you are getting for your money as I have stayed in better youth hostels than this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at end of March 2012 on a Groupon overnight stay with meal, which even though the hotel had an issue with Groupon, they still honoured the price, but had to pay them direct. Refund from Groupon not a problem. Arrived just as afternoon tea was about to finish but were shown to a table in the bar to order before getting our things from the car. Husband took things up to room and came down laughing to say there was only a bath in the room, no shower! We don't do baths, as I personally don't want to sit in water getting colder, but that's just our preference. Asked Leon, very nice young chap, if they had any rooms with a shower and they did have 1 left. Remember it is a very small hotel with fewer than 10 rooms, so was relieved. Not a problem to move. Huge plate of sandwiches arrived with salad and chips!! But we ate the lot, yummy. Decided as it had turned out to be a lovely day to change our plans and go to Rosslyn Chapel on the Friday and Ikea etc on Saturday. What a great afternoon, and things like that are not my cup of tea, but very interesting and only across the road and a short walk from the hotel. Meal at night was lovely, we were in the small, but nicely decorated dining room and as a lot of Tripadvisor comments were about the stone steak, we felt we had to order them. No the steak wasn't seasoned, but when you buy from a butcher does he season it for you? no thought not! But salt and pepper on the table, mine was cooked to perfection. Paid for breakfast in the morning and it was equally delicious
Menu choice on both the lunch and evening menu had plenty for vegetarians, not that we are but it's always something to note down.
Door to door to get to Ikea was less than 5 minutes, so would definitely go for lunch the next time we are at Ikea.
Overall, nice staff, yes hotel is dated but our room was nice and interior matched the exterior so wouldn't complain about it and the food was exceptional. Lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandapanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslin
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,386 reviews
3.8 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
250 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Cross Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Cross Guesthouse

Address: 2 Penicuik Road, Roslin EH25 9LH, Scotland (Formerly Roslin Glen Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Roslin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roslin
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapel Cross Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 metres from Rosslyn Chapel on the old chapel cross, the Chapel Cross Guesthouse is a new business offering affordable accommodation for short or long term visits to the area and a newly refurbished Victorian tea room. Set in the historic neuk of Roslin 9 miles south of the picturesque capital of Edinburgh. The village most commonly known for its famous Chapel and its starring role in Dan Brown's Da Vinci Code also is the home of Dolly the sheep, the first cloned animal and Bovril Johnson the inventor of the drink Bovril. The guesthouse is run by Richard, Amy and baby Harriet it has been a labour of love since taking over in August of 2013. They have been carefully restoring the building and plan to provide an affordable service for all visitors with a friendly warm, authentic Scottish welcome. Only 12 miles from Edinburgh’s International Airport, Roslin is a perfect base whether you are a tourist, or here on business. We are very close to The Roslin Bio centre, Edinburgh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Chapel Cross Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Cross Guesthouse Roslin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing