We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Findhorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crown is a warm, friendly place situated in the heart of Findhorn village overlooking the beautiful Findhorn bay. We are the only Hotel in Findhorn with 7 en-suite rooms available if you are looking for accommodation. We have a great selection of Malt Whisky. Cask Ales are also available. Families with children are welcome. Under 14’s can use the conservatory and restaurant area up until 8pm. We specialise in traditional Scottish cooking using fresh local produce and seafood so if you are looking for somewhere to eat in Findhorn? Look no further! Our chefs look forward to serving you. 
Insch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Best battered haddock we have ever eaten! Beautifully cooked with a great batter which stayed crispy right to the last mouthful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    107
    26
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value homemade food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

good waiting staff with freshly cooked food. clean atmosphere and attentive staff.child friendlyand smaller portions available

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaEMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh seafood lunch”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited Findhorn with friends on a cool, misty day at the end of April. Attracted by the fresh seafood sign outside the Inn. Lovely fire to welcome us and we really enjoyed the fresh crab, scallops, smoked fish etc. Also appreciated the warm welcome. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklin, Pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped for a Monday lunch and found a pleasant, cozy dining room with a great selection of ales and a choice of appetizing lunch specials. M wife had the Buckie Crab Salad and I had the Culen Skink (smoked Haddock) soup. Both were very well prepared and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Great stop & responsive, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easealee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Customer Service Poor”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My family have been visiting findhorn, from Wales, for the last 8 years. Every year we have been to this pub for a meal and have never been disappointed with the food. This year we requested to book a table in the restaurant for 7.30pm - the landlord asked if 7.15pm would be ok so we agreed & thought no more of it. When we then came in for our meal we were seated in the bar & told the restaurant was closed - strange but we didn't complain. Having been sat for a couple of minutes browsing the menu the landlord ushered us to hurry up & order. Having decided we went to the bar to order a starter and main each & was then told we were too late & that we could only order a main because the chef wanted to leave at 8pm!! We couldn't believe it. Why did the landlord not tell us that the kitchen closed at 8? Had he done that when we booked a table then we'd have gone in earlier. What sort of place turns away customers? Especially customers who have been returning to the same place for 8 yrs. Really really disappointing customer service.

Helpful?
3 Thank janjenkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing