We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine food and a friendly welcome in fantastic Findhorn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown & Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown & Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Findhorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fine food and a friendly welcome in fantastic Findhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The ideal location to unwind. Having spent two weeks working in the area, nothing could have helped more to ease away the stresses of a working day than the atmosphere in this charming, family friendly village inn. A well priced and wide selection of fresh local seafood is available along with more familiar menu options, ensuring all palettes are catered for and that no-one leaves short of satisfaction or empty of pocket. Behind the bar you will find a reasonable selection of beers and a fine whisky collection, again all fairly priced. The staff are hard working and friendly and the proprietors welcoming and entertaining. The Inn itself sits in the heart of Findhorn and is set just back from the beautiful bay which bears the village name. In summary, a genuine jewel in the Moray Firth crown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    14
    6
    16
See reviews for
39
46
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Perfect location to stay while working in the area for 2 weeks. The old building has a fantastic character and the staff could not do enough to help, both of which provided a relaxing atmosphere to return to in the evening. The menu is varied with the sea food and steaks particularly good. Having stayed in 5 star accommodation all over the world this 17th century Inn rates just as highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J248w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytchett Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

3 of us stayed here while working, we had come from Bournemouth had a great stay, the staff were all friendly and the food was brilliant. We ended staying an extra night and there were no issues in making sure we could stay. We also had a good Whiskey tasting session with the owners. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Crown & Anchor to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

After having stayed in the inn on 8 seperate occasions, i feel it only correct that i now give my true opinion of the Crown and Anchor . Situated on the waters edge with spectacular view across the bay sits this 17th century Inn.
You shall find within the Private car park ample parking for all vehicles.
On entering the premises you get the feel and theme for this inn with its low ceilings and coombes that offer that extra bit of character. The bar is well set out and has a vast selection of beers and whiskies associated with this part of Scotland. We ate in the bar every night we have stayed there sampling different dishes from the smoked haddock to the lamb shank (which i had to have on more than one occasion). Once you order has been taken by the very attentitive waitresses you do not wait long for your food to arrive.The portions are a good size and well presented, with the food always arriving piping hot.
Rooms are as you would imagine them to be for a 17th century inn, plenty of character, plain decoration,sash and case windows and a shower that would not be out of place in your own home.
The beds are large and exceptionally comfy and the rooms are always clean with tea and coffee making facilities, if you want that sort of thing? Breakfasts are served from 8am onwards and the staff are more than willing to cook whatever you wish
Both my Wife and I love this place and look forward to returning in August.

If i were to say anything negative about the Crown and Anchor it would be that its a 3hr drive from where we live.

Thank you once again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumeira2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights of which we had a wonderful stay. The lovely landlady up graded us from a double to a very comfortable king size room which was wonderful and comfortable, our bed was very very comfortable we didn't make it down to breakfast, as we had such a good sleep on our first night. Our meal was fantastic and the wine was lovely, a real treat. We didn't have to check out till 11 so there was no rush to leave the room. We will defiantly be back as we had a lovely break.
The only moan I would have us that I would like to see some fresh fruit at breakfast time other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Do not stay here. Room was very basic. No towels on arrival. Tiny teeny piece of soap. Worryingly the towels given to me were black! Ugh one wondered what stains they were hiding. Tiny shower cubicle and toilet only. Walls paper thin so could hear next door room activity. The old curtains were on metal runners which stuck. One set did not meet in the middle so the light came through. Beds had old tired sheets and covers on them. Breakfast was awful. The poached egg looked like it had been cooked in a grubby pan of water as the egg white was grey. The orange juice was in a carafe that I suspected was only ever topped up and never washed. The cutlery was dirty. To top it all they had the cheek to charge a whopping £75 for single occupancy B and B. this place is a run down tired horrible hotel. I actually cried it was so depressing.

Room Tip: No room as the one I had was apparently the good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our family arrived for lunch and as it was a super warm sunny day we decided to eat outside. We were served at once and given an appropriate seat for our baby and our meal was ordered and served efficiently . The meal was really good and our party of 4 adults 1child and a baby were catered for very well and the price of the meal was certainly value for money. Thank you for making my Birthday lunch and Father's Day a memorable one! We shall be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyDunc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Findhorn
3.7 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
11.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
9.1 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Anchor Inn

Property: Crown & Anchor Inn
Address: 44 Findhorn, Findhorn IV36 3YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Findhorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Findhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown & Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown & Anchor Inn Findhorn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing