We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown & Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown & Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Findhorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Findhorn is a lovely village, where my granny lived when I was little. I wanted to take my partner back and have a trip down memory lane. The location and views of the back shore and Findhorn Bay are second to none. Unfortunately the only place available to stay in the village is the Crown and Anchor so they have a captive audience. I agree with Ally1214, the rooms aren't clean, the bed is saggy and uncomfy, I can't believe Health & Safety would pass the wiring and the freeview box (perched somewhat precariously on top of the enormous flat screen TV) was FILTHY and obviously hadn't been dusted in months. The "en-suite" was a toilet and TINY shower which didn't really work and you had to wash very quickly as the water didn't drain away properly so the floor was flooded very quickly. Water was luke warm. Although that was warmer than the welcome from our host who seemed decidedly put out that we were there. At £85 a night I expected better. We didn't have dinner, but breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    40
    16
    6
    16
See reviews for
40
47
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This has an ideal location close to the bay. The food was delicious, including a freshly cooked breakfast each morning but the rooms are tiny, not very clean and had few facilities expected at these prices. The divan trim to our beds had not been washed in years it seemed. The carpet round the bed had not been hoovered very well, as the accumulated dust was quite obvious to the naked eye and our bedside lamp was attached to a four-way gang literally hanging by my bed. The wardrobe(?) was tiny, there was a pair of dirty socks left in one drawer and the bottom drawer of three didn't open. The one mirror above the sink was set so high I struggled to see more than my eyebrows! The host was very unaccommodating, quite surly and unhelpful. There were quite a few of us as a party and we all vowed not to return. Unfortunately there is little or no competition in the area. Would NOT recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a lovely room with seaview and absolutely clean and fine. Did not eat at the hotel restaurant but the food certainly looked and smelled good. Perfect location to just walk the beaches and start chilling out for vacation. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The ideal location to unwind. Having spent two weeks working in the area, nothing could have helped more to ease away the stresses of a working day than the atmosphere in this charming, family friendly village inn. A well priced and wide selection of fresh local seafood is available along with more familiar menu options, ensuring all palettes are catered for and that no-one leaves short of satisfaction or empty of pocket. Behind the bar you will find a reasonable selection of beers and a fine whisky collection, again all fairly priced. The staff are hard working and friendly and the proprietors welcoming and entertaining. The Inn itself sits in the heart of Findhorn and is set just back from the beautiful bay which bears the village name. In summary, a genuine jewel in the Moray Firth crown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Perfect location to stay while working in the area for 2 weeks. The old building has a fantastic character and the staff could not do enough to help, both of which provided a relaxing atmosphere to return to in the evening. The menu is varied with the sea food and steaks particularly good. Having stayed in 5 star accommodation all over the world this 17th century Inn rates just as highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J248w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytchett Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

3 of us stayed here while working, we had come from Bournemouth had a great stay, the staff were all friendly and the food was brilliant. We ended staying an extra night and there were no issues in making sure we could stay. We also had a good Whiskey tasting session with the owners. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Crown & Anchor to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

After having stayed in the inn on 8 seperate occasions, i feel it only correct that i now give my true opinion of the Crown and Anchor . Situated on the waters edge with spectacular view across the bay sits this 17th century Inn.
You shall find within the Private car park ample parking for all vehicles.
On entering the premises you get the feel and theme for this inn with its low ceilings and coombes that offer that extra bit of character. The bar is well set out and has a vast selection of beers and whiskies associated with this part of Scotland. We ate in the bar every night we have stayed there sampling different dishes from the smoked haddock to the lamb shank (which i had to have on more than one occasion). Once you order has been taken by the very attentitive waitresses you do not wait long for your food to arrive.The portions are a good size and well presented, with the food always arriving piping hot.
Rooms are as you would imagine them to be for a 17th century inn, plenty of character, plain decoration,sash and case windows and a shower that would not be out of place in your own home.
The beds are large and exceptionally comfy and the rooms are always clean with tea and coffee making facilities, if you want that sort of thing? Breakfasts are served from 8am onwards and the staff are more than willing to cook whatever you wish
Both my Wife and I love this place and look forward to returning in August.

If i were to say anything negative about the Crown and Anchor it would be that its a 3hr drive from where we live.

Thank you once again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumeira2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Findhorn
3.7 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.5 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Anchor Inn

Property: Crown & Anchor Inn
Address: 44 Findhorn, Findhorn IV36 3YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Findhorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Findhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crown & Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown & Anchor Inn Findhorn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing