We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great”
Review of Gordon Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordon Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Fochabers B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had booked for a bar supper. Food was not great - I'm suspecting a great deal of use of the fryer and microwave. Service was really not good either. We were not offered more drinks etc. I'm sure the owners aren't really that interested as the lack of competition in the area will ensure that locals use it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dinah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is exactly what we expected it to be. Fochabers is a quiet little town and the hotel is like this too. We found the staff to be very friendly and they made us and our dog very welcome...in fact the dog got his own special breakfast cooked for him. The food was just lovely and very good sized portions to be found...and the bonus was that dogs are allowed in the bar (not the main dining area) which suited us perfectly. The rooms we were in were a little tired but not excessively so. We will definitely use the Gordon arms again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Booked for Bar Meal on Saturday 2nd at 6 pm.. ordrered food and waited at 6.30pm thought they are running a little behind as soup had still not arrived, at 6.45pm looked around found that another couple and table of 8 were getting there starters and they arrived after us, went to reception asked why we were not served to be told that waitress had forgot to put the order through to kitchen! we left very dissapointing .

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked a room for 3 nights, when we arrived we were greeted by the warm friendly staff. The hotel is an old building full of old world charm, from the lovely dining room, to the cosy breakfast room, all the way to the charming bedroom that we had. Our room had an on suite bath, while not the posh facilities of the modern hotels, this hotel was just what we were looking for....country charm and this place was full of it.
The staff could not have been any more friendly or attentive, whether it was something as simple as more coffee, tea or sugar for our room, or information or directions to a sight we wished to see, they all were more than willing to accommodate our wishes.

Our first night we were not willing to go looking for a place to eat and ate at the pub/ restaurant. We were so glad we did, the food was amazing home cooked meals, and in fact they were so good we had dinner there every evening, along with the breakfasts each morning. My Fiancé said it was the best haggis he had ever had, and no matter what we had to eat we were more than happy with the wonderful food. Even if you are not staying in town, if you have a chance to stop and sample the wonderful food, we highly recommend it.

So if you’re looking for country charm, look no further then, The Gordon Arms Hotel, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TammyGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we went here during the festive period only for something to eat, we were greeted at the door and shown to a table in the lounge. The menu was not to bad so i went for the mince and potatoes as the menu appeared to be homemade scottish cooking, my wife went for the cullen skink (a scottish fish soup), my meal was served with cabbage .carrots and turnip and was very goos as was my wires.
My complaint is that , it was like eating in a morgue with everyone whispering, and i could not wait to leave which was a pity as the food was good

    • Value
    • Service
Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we stayed in this hotel for one night. the hotel has its own parking. when we arrived we were a little bit worried: the hotel is huge, old fashioned, an a little bit dark in some areas. the rooms are big but the furnishing is old, it definitely needs a renewing, but the quality of the sleeping is good and it is really silent. Fochabers is really a small place, so we decided to have dinner in the hotel. That was great! Everything we ordered was good, abundant and pretty cheap for the quality. I suggest this hotel to everybody who needs a place where to sleep and eat in that region, as it is really near to Inverness and it's a good starting point for the tour of Scottish Castles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedericaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

i stayed here for 4 nights. the room was a good size with a worn out mattress that had a hollow in the middle from where everyone had slept you could also hear the springs going ping when you moved. the carpet was awful and looked as if it had never seen a hoover run over it for a while due to the hair that was on it!!!!

The meals there were ok but £8-95 for a small plate of mince and tatties. The breakfast was ok apart from the dreadful tasting sausages!

The service here was bad as stated in previous reviews. you could wait long enough to be served and there would be plenty time for you serve yourself if you wanted!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stwrt626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fochabers
7.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
213 reviews
8.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
141 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
372 reviews
9.3 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
8.0 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Arms Hotel

Address: 80 High Street, Fochabers IV32 7DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Fochabers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fochabers
Price Range: £87 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gordon Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Arms Hotel Fochabers, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing