We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask the original owner how to *make* a salad”

The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Fochabers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, International, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Quaich Cafe offer delicious home made food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.Our adaptable menu offer a variety of home made dishes created using fresh and locally sourced produce. With options ranging from hearty breakfasts, appetizing lunch, relaxing "Coffee and Cake" to enjoyable evening dinner. We also provide variety of Gluten Free dishes.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ask the original owner how to *make* a salad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

On a recent visit we decided to have a salad as the other owners salad were the best ever. What a disappointment this visit was. We waited 30 mins for our salad to arrive and it was the most disgusting thing ive ever seen. Pile of lettuce in middle of plate and 3 halfs of tomatoes no cucumber or any other salad food but she threw olives and dried tomatoes on plate.If a place can fail on a salad its time to give up

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m0aningminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaM123, Owner at The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank You for your review.We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our version of salad for which we have a lot of compliments from our returning customers.We notice that you were not entirely honest with your review regarding the ingredients of the salad.For the record all our salad comes with ingredients such as:fresh lettuce, cherry tomatoes, coleslaw, marinated olives, pickled beets, pickled onions, sun dried tomatoes, capers,mango chutney, homemade bread and of course the main ingredients of your choice such as tuna mayonnaise, ham, prawns Marie rose and so on. Previous owner had his own take on salad as we have our own.We hope you will come again to try something else from our menu more suitable for your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    21
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

First visit with friends for Sunday breakfast. Food cooked to order, no kept hot for eternity food here. There were a number of us all served together so we could eat together - revolutionary! Hot, tasty, friendly service, good atmosphere and great value. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Just as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

First visit with new owners. Some slight differences in layout and furniture, but the welcome was just as warm as ever and the food was fine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was unsure, but mighty glad i went in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar had been recommended to us by friends, and we took the short drive from Elgin to Fochabers..(A lovely village, now the A96 by- passes it ) to see for ourselves. This was my wee treat, as i was traveling offshore, and this was my last day at home.

Very helpful and attentive staff made us feel welcome and well looked after, the moment we entered the Cafe.
Our drinks were with us promptly, and the food, upon arrival, delivered by the chef himself, was very well presented, piping hot, beautifully garnished with noticeably fresh salad & homemade coleslaw.

They were quite busy when we were in, but kept up with everyone's individual needs excellently , had it not been so busy, i would have been thanking every member of staff individually, for a job well done, and creating such a cozy atmosphere, and "Focal Point" within Fochabers.

All very reasonably priced too, for an excellent food offer.

Well done all, we will be back again soon, and will spread the word to more friends.

Brian & Gwen Mitchell

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Citybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Fabulous wee cafe - staff are hugely friendly and welcoming, and the extensive menu has lots of gluten free options and free range eggs are used.

Great spot for a light lunch before getting an ice cream up the road.

Tasty, good value, and the staff deserve a special mention for being so awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Quaich - Cafe and Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing