We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wee room”
Review of Red Lion Tavern

Red Lion Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fochabers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion Tavern
Ranked #4 of 4 Fochabers B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great wee room”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After reading some reviews we didn't have high hopes, but we were pleasantly surprised by the room.

You have your own acces from the back so you don't need to go through the pub if you don't want to. The fitting in the room all appeared to be new, and very warm and comfortable. I would definitely go back.
Staff were friendly also.

Fochabers is a great wee place, and this tavern is close to everything you need.

Room Tip: We had room 6, very good double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeredjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

this place is ok. room was clean dry and warm. though bit on the small side. walking through the bar presnts no major problems to most people. well I didnt find it a problem. The customers dont have two heads for goodness sake. Breakfast was bog standard fry up and wasnt that great. poor quality produce used, but filled a whole before a days walking

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night whilst on Speyside Way. Agree with all said before. Ideal location for us. No complaints about the room. Spacious and clean. Entry and exit through the public bar was a bit intimidating. Breakfast OK but breakfast room in need of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed 1 night (thankfully) at this hotel and it was positively shabby. The entrance through the public bar was pretty off putting, we were led through the back, past the kitchen and outside to another building. Our room was large and was clean. The en suite shower was good but there was mould climbing up the wall!
The Breakfast room was dirty, there were stains on most of the chairs, the place sadly needed cleaned, updated and decorated. The view from the large patio doors - which needed cleaned - was the the box to stub out cigarettes.
No choice in cooked breakfast was offered.
This is a lovely village and we had a good dinner in the sister hotel further along the main street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

First of all I'd like to say that once I'd got settled into my room I was thinking that this would be my hotel of choice whenever I had to stay overnight in the Inverness area for my work, the room was great, very clean and big, the staff were friendly and helpfull and Fochabers is a nice village, unfortunatley the hotel is located about 100 yards from a church with a bell tower that chimed every hour, on the hour all through the night! if you're the sort of person that can get to sleep very easily and then sleep through an earthquake then this would be an ideal place to stay as it's good value for money, however I wouldn't stay here again as having to work with no sleep then facing a 4 hour drive home is not my idea of a good day, such a shame as I would have given this hotel a 4.5/5 instead of 2/5 were it not for the flippin church bell.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We've stayed in some shabby pubs & this was a wonderful change!
From the pub entrance it did not look like anything special, but the rooms were in a separate wing behind the pub - spotlessly clean & very comfy. No noise.
The pub does not do food but they recommended a nearby restaurant which was great. Breakfast was in a sunny room & was great. Owners were friendly.
We were walking the Spey Way & it was a great place to stop after a rainy walk!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trainer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Had a great time staying here, staff were really friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. HIGHLY reccomended, Fochabers is a lovely village.

  • Liked — Friendly bar staff
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Lion Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Tavern

Property: Red Lion Tavern
Address: Fochabers, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Fochabers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fochabers
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Red Lion Fochabers
Fochabers Red Lion
Red Lion Tavern Fochabers, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing