We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free and Interesting”

WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Fochabers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a visitor Centre based at the mouth of the river Spey where it meets the North Sea. Dolphins are regularly seen at the mouth of the river Spey, along with ospreys, seals, a huge variety of bird life and the occasional otter! Join us for land based dolphin watching, tours of Scotland's largest surviving icehouse, wildlife walks and family fun days. There is a lovely shop and cafe on site as well as an interactive exhibition area with details of all the latest sightings. The Centre is run by Whale and Dolphin Conservation, so come and have a fun day out and learn about whales and dolphins and support our charity work to protect these wonderful creatures!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Free and Interesting”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We went to the Dolphin Center on our first day in Scotland. We weren't sure what to expect, - but we were pleasantly surprised! You could borrow a pair of binoculars for free, tours were interesting, and we saw dolphins! The site is beautiful and we had fun walking around. The kids even took a dip in the water - just to say that they did. The cafe was nice too. Give it a try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacati0nplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_J_Ward, Centre co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review. I am very pleased that you had a great day and even took a dip in the Moray Firth!

Hope you come back and visit :-)

Cheers

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    62
    14
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic free day out for all the family!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

First time here with my mum and my 2 children aged 3 and 4 and it was great fun! Can't wait to come back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelamct1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
“Perfect Sunday even without Dolphins!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Myself and my girlfriend headed upto the centre for 11am and spent around 4 hours in the magnificent centre. Free hire of binoculars is advisable which we used at the mouth of the Spey. We then headed in to the centre for home made scones and a warm drink before heading on the tour. Lunch was great and we spent the afternoon on rocks watching the salmon jump in the river. I can't talk highly of the place and the staff. What a perfect Sunday. We'll be back and hopefully the dolphins won't be as shy. P.S yes it's free but let's try and encourage donation and help build on the fabulous work done previously.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruairidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_J_Ward, Centre co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
What a lovely message! Thank you so much, I have passed it on to all the team as it's a real booster to get such good feedback :-)

We hope to see you again soon and fingers crossed the dolphins are more obliging next time.

Thanks

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem...dolphins are amazing creatures!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A gem...I took my friend from London for a breath of fresh air @Spey Bay. The Scottish Dolphin Centre is a gem - they were just doing the last sighting of the day at 5pm - cue the dolphins - absolute magic. We will certainly revisit (but not so close to closing time) and take binoculars and layers - can't wait!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courtyardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_J_Ward, Centre co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thanks for the review! Sounds like you had perfect dolphin timing :-)

Hope to see you again soon

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Interesting”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent the day at this centre, and saw dolphins jumping just off the coast, we took the ice house tour, which was fascinating, and had lunch in the cafe, which was great value for money.

Remember to take wind/rain proof clothes as it can get bitter on the coast.

I would advise everyone to visit this place, it is FREE, and is good for all ages

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanGordon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_J_Ward, Centre co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! It's much appreciated.

Absolutely delighted that you spent the whole day here and experienced the pleasure of seeing wild dolphins.

Hope to see you again in the near future!

All the best

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre also viewed

 

Been to WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing