We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent not only for dolphin fans”

WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Fochabers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a visitor Centre based at the mouth of the river Spey where it meets the North Sea. Dolphins are regularly seen at the mouth of the river Spey, along with ospreys, seals, a huge variety of bird life and the occasional otter! Join us for land based dolphin watching, tours of Scotland's largest surviving icehouse, wildlife walks and family fun days. There is a lovely shop and cafe on site as well as an interactive exhibition area with details of all the latest sightings. The Centre is run by Whale and Dolphin Conservation, so come and have a fun day out and learn about whales and dolphins and support our charity work to protect these wonderful creatures!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Sinsheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent not only for dolphin fans”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fabulous, home made meals, brilliant service, friendly staff. And if you are lucky, you can watch dolphins. Don`t forget your binoculars! Nice, little garden and, where packages are needed for food, they are eco-friendly (jam in a glas not plastics, etc.). Will be back next year :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jürgen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi there,

We are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the centre, It's great to hear that your experience was complemented by the service and the delicious food in the cafe. I really hope that you had the chance to see dolphins on your visit to the centre and if not then I hope you can come back and visit us again in the future.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    62
    14
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Love Spey bay people are very friendly.Thought the shop would be expensive but very reasonably priced.food is lovely.and love the nature walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michseivwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your lovely review. It's great to hear that you found us all friendly here and that you enjoyed the amazing natural environment of Spey Bay. I'm also delighted that you enjoyed browsing through our lovely shop.

We hope to see you at Spey Bay again soon,

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly shop staff and amazing scenery”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a quick coffee after a nice walk around the sea. Very pleasant staff, clean cafe and quick service. Lovely information room about dolphins, with great visuals and interactive parts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gingernut268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your time at the centre and the service in the cafe. I hope you were lucky enough to see the dolphins while you were here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dire Cafe ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the centre yesterday, which in itself is good with informed staff and the dry dive was impressive.
However, with 25 mins to wait until the dry dive we decided to have a coffee in the cafe. Mistake!
The place is plastered with posters telling you there is table service and to take a seat. So we did. After a long wait watching the antics of several teenage staff through in the kitchen a couple of other groups came in and went straight up to the counter where they got their orders taken (once someone could be bothered to come out from the kitchen) We followed suit and were finally able to place an order for 2 lattes.
We waited about 15 mins for the coffees by which point it was time to go for the dry dive. Unable to find any staff I went to the kitchen to ask for take away cups, which resulted in several minutes wait while the guy searched for them.
When we were ready to leave we couldn't find anyone to pay so just had to dump the exact money on the counter and go.
The cafe is in dire need of some management to guide the young staff. (Having spent most of my teens doing Saturday and holiday jobs like this, I know what it's like!) You'd think that on a busy Saturday afternoon in the summer season someone would make an effort to be on site to manage it. The experience didn't leave us locals with a very good impression of the centre as a whole so goodness knows what the many foreign tourists there made of it.

Helpful?
2 Thank rhonarhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review the centre and to provide us with the invaluable feedback that we need, to ensure that we can always continue to improve our visitor experience here at Spey Bay.
I'm delighted to hear that you found our newly opened Dry dive so impressive, we are very proud of our latest exhibit.
I'm very sorry to hear that your experience in the cafe did not live up to your expectations. This is something that disappoints us all as a team. This year has very much been a 'trial run' for us after newly taking over the running of the cafe and it is tough to hear that on this particular day we were not up to scratch. We are keen to take all feedback on board and to hopefully learn as much as possible from our mistakes to ever improve our visitor experience here, for this year and for next. I would hope that you would be willing to give us a second chance, if not to make a first impression but to make a great lasting impression with you for the future.
I'm really pleased that you found the staff informative and otherwise enjoyed your visit to Spey Bay. I am just extremely disappointed that all of the good was let down for you by one aspect of the centre.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Waited 40 mins for coffee asked for sugar which took another 20mins by which time as we sat outside coffee was cold went inside ourself to get a hot cup of coffee. When we complained staff were dismissal and uninterested

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank davidholden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience in our cafe while you were visiting The Scottish Dolphin Centre. Our team have discussed the issues that arose while you were visiting and will be ensuring that sugar, salt etc are always readily available to all visitors who sit outside on the beautiful, sunny days we have been lucky enough to have recently.
We are also planning an imminent staff refresher on customer service and complaint handling, as we were extremely disappointed to hear that you found our response to your complaint unsatisfactory.
I hope you did manage to enjoy the time you spent in the rest of the centre and found the wildlife and beauty of Spey Bay as wonderful as we do.

I hope if you are holidaying in the area again you will consider giving us another chance to give you the best service possible.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre also viewed

 

Been to WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing