We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not bother - what a waste of a day!”

WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Fochabers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a visitor Centre based at the mouth of the river Spey, where it meets the North Sea. Dolphins are regularly spotted at the mouth of the river Spey and close to the shoreline, along with ospreys, seals, a huge variety of bird life and the occasional otter! Join us for land based dolphin watching, take a tour in the historic Tugnet icehouse (Scotland's largest surviving icehouse), go on a guided wildlife walk and take part in our family fun days. There is a lovely gift shop and cafe on site as well as an interactive exhibition area with details of all the latest sightings. The Centre is the public face of the charity Whale and Dolphin Conservation, so come and have a fun day out and learn about whales and dolphins and support our charity work to protect these wonderful creatures!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was a waste of our holiday driving for an hour and a half from the Highlands to only be told "Oh we are not doing that today....er hello it is mid August and no mention on any publication!!" But you can paint stones - well thanks but my no thanks - MASSIVE let down. Do not bother!!

Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi there,

I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointing trip to our centre. If you have been holidaying locally I am certain that you will be aware that the flooding since Monday has devastated homes and businesses alike throughout North East Scotland. Sadly for us our Icehouse (one of our main tour attractions) was seriously affected by these floods and as you say was unfortunately still far too dangerous to open to the public on the day of your visit. The other tour that we offer daily is our Wildlife Wander and due to the high winds and rain on that day we had no choice but to cancel this also. As a predominantly outdoor attraction we have been severely affected by the unseasonably bad weather and are working very hard now that SEPA has removed any further flood warnings for Spey Bay to get things fixed up as soon as possible.
We have endeavoured to keep the public up to date with the situation as much as possible by posting on our Facebook page and also by posting a closure notice for the Icehouse on our own website. I'm very sorry that you do not feel we have done enough at this time.

I wish you a very pleasant and safe rest of your holiday,
All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spey bay"
in 37 reviews
"house tour"
in 17 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"small cafe"
in 7 reviews
"scones"
in 11 reviews
"nature walk"
in 5 reviews
"soup"
in 10 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"information centre"
in 3 reviews
"dolphin spotting"
in 8 reviews
"great cafe"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"sandwich"
in 6 reviews
"great information"
in 3 reviews
"cake"
in 8 reviews
"moray firth"
in 10 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 7 reviews
Filter

194 - 198 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a day here last week and I cannot recommend it enough.
Its free and theres no pressure to give donations but Im sure you will want to.
We didnt eat there but the cafe looked good.
Theres a really lovely shop with the usual gifts and some lovely unusual local gifts.
The centre wasn't big but theres a room with 2 live cameras out to the shore to look for dolphins and lots of child friendly activities to learn about doplhins as well as literature for adults to read/look at.
Theres a board with the months sightings on it and the day before we got there there had been sightings of Osprey and Dolphins but sadly on the day we went we only spotted seagulls.
It didnt ruin the day though and I could have sat on the gorgeous pepple beach all day really just looking out it was very relaxing. You can hire binoculars for free too.
There is a free tour of the Ice House and a 'dry dive' where you can watch a video of under the sea.
All of the staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions.

Thank lindsayv1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Spey Bay and that you took part in so many of the things to do. I'm really glad that you found the staff so helpful and knowledgeable and that you enjoyed looking around our shop. I have to agree our pebble beach is a very relaxing place to while away the hours, even without the dolphins or ospreys showing up.

I hope that you can come back and visit us again and that we get some of our lovely dolphins turn up to greet you next time.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff and volunteers were truly inspirational and knowledgable about whales and dolphins. Make sure you take advantage of the educational sessions and visit the ice house.

1  Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi there,

I'm really glad you enjoyed your time here at Spey Bay. Our volunteers and staff are very passionate about the marine environment and it's inhabitants and it's great to hear that came over during your visit.
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a lovely review and I hope you can make it back to see us again soon.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fabulous, home made meals, brilliant service, friendly staff. And if you are lucky, you can watch dolphins. Don`t forget your binoculars! Nice, little garden and, where packages are needed for food, they are eco-friendly (jam in a glas not plastics, etc.). Will be back next year :-)

1  Thank Jürgen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi there,

We are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the centre, It's great to hear that your experience was complemented by the service and the delicious food in the cafe. I really hope that you had the chance to see dolphins on your visit to the centre and if not then I hope you can come back and visit us again in the future.

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Love Spey bay people are very friendly.Thought the shop would be expensive but very reasonably priced.food is lovely.and love the nature walk.

1  Thank Michseivwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineHannigan, Centre Co-ordinator at WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your lovely review. It's great to hear that you found us all friendly here and that you enjoyed the amazing natural environment of Spey Bay. I'm also delighted that you enjoyed browsing through our lovely shop.

We hope to see you at Spey Bay again soon,

All the best,

Kate Hannigan
Centre Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre also viewed

 

Been to WDC Scottish Dolphin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing