We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous chippy”

Fochabers Chip Shop
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Fochabers
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Went to this establishment on Mon 25th March 2024 seen loads of awards for excellence on their walls had a fish supper and black pudding supper both were outstanding will definitely return

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank 103dereko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2023 via mobile

Staying in the area and fancied a wee chippy. Ordered two haddock suppers. £9.15 each.
Fish cooked to order, few people standing about waiting on their orders.
10 mins wait then we got ours...back to the digs. Fish was stunning, so fresh and with a crispy batter. Chips were good too and a wee tub of tartar sauce as well.
Delish.....

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank montysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

This was my least favorite fish and chip shop in Scotland. I was there for 2 weeks, in Edinburgh and then Inverness, taking tours almost daily. The fish was very greasy, and fried in beef fat - which is not great if you don't eat beef and that's why you went to a fish shop. The chips were very average.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sabramarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2023

Normally good but disappointing today. Food cold, probably because they realised they got the order wrong and had to take the bits apart to amend it.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2023 via mobile

Wish I looked at the reviews first

Gets cooked as you wait which is good ,

Silly setup to pay all back to front that was the quick part only 3 people in front of me but it took forever ever to get my order cooked glad I had my phone to watch a video while waiting

It said the fish was 7 oz not the one I got it was more like 4 oz with lots of watered down batter poor quality fish when the fish markets are just along the coast.

Big question would I go again no I would not

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank fwfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fochabers Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to Fochabers Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.