We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great house!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Celebrate in Style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Celebrate in Style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fromlondo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great house!”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very impressive- the perfect Scottish hunting lodge holiday. The kitchens (there are 2!) are well stocked and the dining room was large but comfortable. The choice of sitting rooms was also impressive- we usually sat in the more formal sitting room, but occasional sat by the fire in the cozy hall sitting area. The kids hung out inn the games room. There are several good local dining spots, we loved Kimberly Inn, and we cooked a lot as well. There are large food shops close by for everything you could want and the local butcher was very good. We went for walks close by in the forrest but also did some proper hill walks further afield. A great holiday- we will definitely be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for reviewing Dalvey House. We are very pleased your holiday went well and that the house suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
1 review
“Our Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Dalvey House for our wedding at the end of July. Our ceremony was held on the front lawn and the beautiful gardens were also the setting for our photographs. Our dinner and dance took place In a marquee that we hired and the staff at Dalvey were very helpful in assisting with planning its location and set up. We booked the house for 3 days over the weekend which allowed us to spend time with our closest family and friends before and after the big day. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed for the weekend. The House is absolutely Stunning and we had the perfect weekend and the perfect wedding. Best day of our lives in the most incredible setting. Thanks Team Dalvey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that all went well for your wedding at Dalvey House.
Best Wishes
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsmarqui...
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A milestone birthday calls for an exceptional celebration to create a lifetime of memories. Enter the Dalvey House.”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The day we arrived in Scotland (a lifelong dream of mine), we took a cab from the Inverness airport to the Dalvey House, which is situated just outside of the lovely town of Forres. From the moment we passed the entry gates, I knew we were going to have an incredible experience. As the cab rounded a bend in the driveway, revealing our first glimpse of the grand manor, we could hardly process the splendor standing before us -- and we were still outside!

The interior was even more stunning, with the downstairs entry and sitting area boasting exquisite wood paneling, a spectacular grand staircase, spacious and impressive dining room, large and comfortable salon, and state of the art kitchen. The upstairs was equally breathtaking, with classic bedroom decorations, very comfortable beds, modern and tasteful bathrooms, charming armoires, and fantastic views of the estate’s lush trees and manicured lawn. Countless original portraits adorned the walls, furthering the sense that we travelled back in time upon crossing the threshold of this incredible home.

My husband and I agreed that we would have been perfectly content to spend the entire week exploring the property and relaxing in the salon. (Why go anywhere else when you are in paradise?) The house is set far back from the road, affording us a very quiet and peaceful existence by day, and allowing us to sleep like a top every night.

A first-class home doesn’t run itself, though. We were privileged to meet and visit with the current owner, Alistair, who delighted us with stories of his family’s long history at Dalvey. It is a labor of love to maintain an estate of this size, and he could not do it without the help of his fabulous staff, Julie, Kate, and Gordon. Gracious and welcoming Julie met us at the house when we arrived, showing us to our rooms, and orienting us to key features, such as how the kitchen outlets work (they are different in the States). If we had questions, trusty Kate was lightning fast with her friendly and helpful responses, since the business office is in a different area of the house. I met Gordon, the groundskeeper, while taking an afternoon walk. Gordon demonstrates excellence in his field, everywhere you look. Whether maintaining the lawn, trimming the topiary, or clearing land for new garden developments, you can witness his magic touch all over the estate. It was truly a pleasure to interact with the members of Team Dalvey, as they are very sincere in their desire to provide an excellent holiday experience to all who visit.

No matter where you live in the world, let me assure you that Forres, Scotland, is not too far away. If you are seeking a holiday to remember, look no further. The Dalvey House is the place for you.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review. We very much enjoyed welcoming you to Dalvey. We are very pleased that your stay with us will hold lasting memories.
Best Regards
the Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katelambe...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house to spend time with family and friends.”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We went as a party of older and younger adults, as a group of 12, hiring the additional wing. The rooms are well proportioned. Whether sitting drinking and laughing with friends or being on your own in the house reading, I felt very at ease. There is a stillness and solidity about the house. It will probably rain at some point but the weather didn't stop us getting out and I deliberately chose to stay in some days to have the house to myself. Drawing the curtains in the morning to look out on the manicured lawn and dashing down the broad staircase in itself felt like being a child at christmas, every morning. It is so clean and smells great, no mustiness, no artificial smells. Kate, who organises things at the house was helpful in the pre-planning. I ordered a 4rib of beef,chickens and breakfast packs from Macbeth's the butcher in Forres. They normally close on saturday, but were good enough to open up for me as we arrived to let me pick up the order, so with a bit of planning you can be pretty much set for the week. The main kitchen is functional and a little short of work surface, but with two ovens and two fridges (three with the back kitchen) it is easy to organise drinkers, vegetarians and omnivores, so that they are not on top of each other at key times. There is a lot of hunting and military paraphernalia, but our vegetarians coped, and it stimulated discussion and humour. We organised kayaking with kayakscotland, to explore the moray firth. As a variably experienced group, the weather stopped us getting out under the bridge to find the dolphins, but we still had a good time and I would definitely recommend the company as a safe way to get out on the water. It isn't the world class experience of the west coast of scotland however, but dolphins are plentiful and arrived, visible from the shore as soon as we finished kayaking. There is plenty to do, walking, cycling, historical sites, distilleries but you need cars to make the most of it. We came by plane,train,car and some left by bus from inverness so although it is way up in the north of scotland the transport links to inverness are good. It is like having your own hotel but with no other guests to irritate you - had I the money to have brought a butler and chef it would have been pretty perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Dear Kate

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that Dalvey House's accommodation suited your needs. We aim to provide a unique experience for our guests, and we are delighted your week with us went well.
Kind Regards
The Dalvey House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalders2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Value & Grand Venue for a Large Group”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our company booked Dalvey House for a management retreat. We were a group of 10 plus one infant. The house was a brilliant setting for our meetings, with plenty of space to spread out for smaller breakout sessions or individual work. Our group mainly used the dining room, hall, and games room, but all common rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of storage space for our foods and all the necessary equipment and space to prepare our meals for the week.

All of the bedrooms are spacious and well decorated with incredibly comfortable beds. The bathrooms at the front of the house are finished to a very high spec, and equivalent to top-end hotel bathrooms. The shared bathrooms at the back of the house are a bit older, but were very clean and worked fine for our group.

The staff at Dalvey House ensured we had a very enjoyable stay. They provided local recommendations and were available if ever there was an issue (there weren't any). They even helped us to organise a grocery delivery and put away all of our groceries!

We were a large group using the house for business and we did experience a little patchiness at times with the wi-fi, but this was probably due to the number of us connecting and the size of the house. We experienced best connectivity in the games room.

Our group was very satisfied with our stay and would recommend Dalvey House to any other groups looking for a grand setting for their Highland adventures.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for reviewing Dalvey House. We are glad that the house worked well for your smaller group meetings and that we were able to accommodate all your needs.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best Regards
The Dalvey House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Dear Patricia
We are pleased that your family celebrations went well and that Dalvey House suited your requirements. It's a great house to have a family get together.
All the best
The Dalvey House team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominic50...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic House!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Can't recommend this place highly enough for a large group of people. The house is amazing and in particular the dinning room, hall way and landings are spectacular. As you approach the house along the winding driveway you start to get a feeling of grandeur, then you see the house and it's better then the website suggests. As I said the highlights for me were the dinning room, hall way and landing but the rest of the house is also excellent. Bedrooms are spacious and comfy and the modern kitchen is fully equipped (which is rare), and great for cooking for large parties. There is also plenty of space to spread out with Drawing Rooms and a large Games Room helping to ensure you won't be getting under the feet of the rest your party.

My entire party was highly impressed by this place. The current website does not do it justice. You really will feel like the Lord or Lady of the manor during your stay. I am already looking for an excuse to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Dominic

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that your weekend was a great success. We very much enjoy welcoming visitors to Dalvey House. Its great to receive such positive feedback.

Many thanks
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing