We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding - couldn't recommend Dalvey House...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Celebrate in Style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Celebrate in Style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheWindBa...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding - couldn't recommend Dalvey House highly enough”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A thoroughly beautiful house and surrounding countryside, I would suggest Dalvey House to anyone. The house itself is comfortable, exquisitely furnished, and warm - an excellent combination that certainly made us a happy group! I honestly couldn't give it any higher praise than to say it is the most beautiful house I have ever visited, and wholeheartedly recommend a visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thank you for the review we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend at the House.

Kind Regards
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
295davo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent homely, warm, and cosy retreat.”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a wonderful weekend, a home away from home. The house is beautiful and very well maintained set in beautiful countryside conveniently located not too far from the airport. I look forward to my next stay!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thank you for the review we are glad your stay with us at Dalvey House was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards
The Dalvey House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T
2 reviews
“The perfect Scottish getaway”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Dalvey House is a truly magnificent place set in beautiful grounds. The house is exquisite, with authentic interiors. The attention to detail was outstanding: super clean, beautiful bed linen, and it really felt like a home from home. Ideal for a luxurious weekend escape for a large group of friends in a picture perfect setting. Will most certainly be going again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Dear Gemma
Glad your group had an enjoyable weekend break at Dalvey House.
Best Regards
The Dalvey House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Perfect country escape in luxurious setting”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Dalvey House is a magnificant venue for a goup retreat. We visited with 6 of us but easily room for many more. Extremely homely feel for such a grand location and kept us all very warm despite visiting in November! Plenty to do in the local area and extremely easy to get to from Inverness airport. Will be back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thank you we are pleased that your stay with us at Dalvey House went well.
Kind Regards
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fromlondo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great house!”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very impressive- the perfect Scottish hunting lodge holiday. The kitchens (there are 2!) are well stocked and the dining room was large but comfortable. The choice of sitting rooms was also impressive- we usually sat in the more formal sitting room, but occasional sat by the fire in the cozy hall sitting area. The kids hung out inn the games room. There are several good local dining spots, we loved Kimberly Inn, and we cooked a lot as well. There are large food shops close by for everything you could want and the local butcher was very good. We went for walks close by in the forrest but also did some proper hill walks further afield. A great holiday- we will definitely be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for reviewing Dalvey House. We are very pleased your holiday went well and that the house suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
1 review
“Our Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Dalvey House for our wedding at the end of July. Our ceremony was held on the front lawn and the beautiful gardens were also the setting for our photographs. Our dinner and dance took place In a marquee that we hired and the staff at Dalvey were very helpful in assisting with planning its location and set up. We booked the house for 3 days over the weekend which allowed us to spend time with our closest family and friends before and after the big day. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed for the weekend. The House is absolutely Stunning and we had the perfect weekend and the perfect wedding. Best day of our lives in the most incredible setting. Thanks Team Dalvey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that all went well for your wedding at Dalvey House.
Best Wishes
The Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsmarqui...
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A milestone birthday calls for an exceptional celebration to create a lifetime of memories. Enter the Dalvey House.”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The day we arrived in Scotland (a lifelong dream of mine), we took a cab from the Inverness airport to the Dalvey House, which is situated just outside of the lovely town of Forres. From the moment we passed the entry gates, I knew we were going to have an incredible experience. As the cab rounded a bend in the driveway, revealing our first glimpse of the grand manor, we could hardly process the splendor standing before us -- and we were still outside!

The interior was even more stunning, with the downstairs entry and sitting area boasting exquisite wood paneling, a spectacular grand staircase, spacious and impressive dining room, large and comfortable salon, and state of the art kitchen. The upstairs was equally breathtaking, with classic bedroom decorations, very comfortable beds, modern and tasteful bathrooms, charming armoires, and fantastic views of the estate’s lush trees and manicured lawn. Countless original portraits adorned the walls, furthering the sense that we travelled back in time upon crossing the threshold of this incredible home.

My husband and I agreed that we would have been perfectly content to spend the entire week exploring the property and relaxing in the salon. (Why go anywhere else when you are in paradise?) The house is set far back from the road, affording us a very quiet and peaceful existence by day, and allowing us to sleep like a top every night.

A first-class home doesn’t run itself, though. We were privileged to meet and visit with the current owner, Alistair, who delighted us with stories of his family’s long history at Dalvey. It is a labor of love to maintain an estate of this size, and he could not do it without the help of his fabulous staff, Julie, Kate, and Gordon. Gracious and welcoming Julie met us at the house when we arrived, showing us to our rooms, and orienting us to key features, such as how the kitchen outlets work (they are different in the States). If we had questions, trusty Kate was lightning fast with her friendly and helpful responses, since the business office is in a different area of the house. I met Gordon, the groundskeeper, while taking an afternoon walk. Gordon demonstrates excellence in his field, everywhere you look. Whether maintaining the lawn, trimming the topiary, or clearing land for new garden developments, you can witness his magic touch all over the estate. It was truly a pleasure to interact with the members of Team Dalvey, as they are very sincere in their desire to provide an excellent holiday experience to all who visit.

No matter where you live in the world, let me assure you that Forres, Scotland, is not too far away. If you are seeking a holiday to remember, look no further. The Dalvey House is the place for you.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review. We very much enjoyed welcoming you to Dalvey. We are very pleased that your stay with us will hold lasting memories.
Best Regards
the Dalvey House Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing