We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is special!”
Review of The Old Kirk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Kirk
Ranked #2 of 15 Forres B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is special!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you are looking for that special something.........then this is the place.

An old church revitlilised with superb flair. Our room was stunning (four poster bed, lush carpet, sparkling shower).

The area itself is well worth exploring and reasonable travel to major historic sites.

Our hosts were wonderful and stayed up late to wait for us arriving from the Orkneys.

Ps- stayed July/August 2010 but option not avalable on eview on drop down date.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portknockie, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at The Old Kirk for just one night to celebrate our 20 year anniversary. We had the four poster room, which was fantastic (as were all the rooms - we got a sneaky peek!). The bathroom was luxurious with fluffy towels and bathrobes, and heated floor!

The shared lounge was fantastic, it would be worth coming back in the winter just to make use of the two log burners! Lots of magazines and books and despite being a huge room with a high ceiling and stunning stained glass window, it was very cosy and welcoming.
Breakfast was brilliant! A huge long tick list for you to select what you would like to eat/drink, catering for every taste.

Herbie and Hilary made us so welcome, from the minute we arrived we felt like family. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to treat ourselves to another night here sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clock73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We would like to thank our hosts for the amazing acccomondation!
They were very warm and hospitable. We can't wait to visit them again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Lovely building, beautifully decorated in a quiet village convenient for the Aberdeen/Inverness road and close to Speyside and the Moray Firth/Loch Ness. Welcoming and attentive hosts, large and well thought out rooms with the added bonus of a big lounge for the evening. Nice breakfasts set you up for the day!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Old Kirk offers very good 4* Scottish Tourist Board value, with lovely high ceilinged, well furnished and decorated rooms with all mod cons(except Wifi).The lounge is dramatic but cosy , featuring high church beams, a huge stained glass window and a log burning stove. Breakfast is traditional Scottish with varied choice. Herbie and Hilary are very friendly attentive hosts. The house is well situated for exploring the whole Moray coast, especially nearbye Brodie castle, Findhorn and Culbin Forest. The quiet back roads around Dyke and the paths through the forest are ideal for cycling. Dyke to Nairn on back roads and shore paths,20mls return and Dyke to Findhorn bay through the forest 13 mls return.Many eateries around-Amici in Forres recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Spent 2 nights at The Od Kirk, a lovely, unique property with great hosts who made us feel very comfortable and at home. There is a lovely lounge with a log-burning stove that we could not make use of as we were out on both evenings. We were shown the other rooms before we left, and they are all lovely. The cooked breakfasts were lovely as well. If we are back in the area, there is only one place we would stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandmichael17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed on two occasions after finding this B&B on trip advisor. Herbie and Hilary are exceptional hosts who do everything possible to ensure you have a comfortable pleasant stay.They treat you as part of the family and provide every home comfort. The B&B is a beautiful building in a stunning setting. We would definitely return next time we are in Forres

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
2.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
245 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
217 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
7.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Mill Inn
Old Mill Inn
#4 of 15 in Forres
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Kirk

Property: The Old Kirk
Address: Dyke, Forres IV36 2TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Kirk Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing