We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B Ever”
Review of The Old Kirk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Kirk
Ranked #2 of 17 Forres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

It is really hard to put into words the stay at the Old Kirk. I have never been in a place so welcoming we were met by Herbie and introduced to his lovely wife Hillary we then had a tour of the Kirk and some history. This has to be seen the only word I could say was wow what a find I could not believe our luck. I have stayed in the large expensive hotels of Las Vegas, San Francisco and Hawaii they could learn from this experience. We have loads of photo's. Our Breakfast well what can I say it was Scotland at its best lovely well cooked and service delightfully. I loved it I did not want to leave yes a B&B this was outstanding value for money as we are live in Yorkshire enjoy value for money. I would recommend this Kirk to everyone it was a pure pleasure the room was large very large my husband had to get on a chair to shut the window , its relaxing and warming . The bed was huge,warm and wonderful. (we couldn't get it in the suite case) the bathroom was modern the shower was loverly. The view was outstandingly beautiful we never heard a thing it was so peaceful. I no I mean both of us did not want to leave its was such a good experience we would like to know if this ever goes up for sale we would be up there like a shot I can not thank Herbie and Hilary for letting us stay in this wonderful place. Inviting wonderful warm welcoming the Kirk is all of these.

Room Tip: All the rooms are as above wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ninawilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you are looking for that special something.........then this is the place.

An old church revitlilised with superb flair. Our room was stunning (four poster bed, lush carpet, sparkling shower).

The area itself is well worth exploring and reasonable travel to major historic sites.

Our hosts were wonderful and stayed up late to wait for us arriving from the Orkneys.

Ps- stayed July/August 2010 but option not avalable on eview on drop down date.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldreamer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at The Old Kirk for just one night to celebrate our 20 year anniversary. We had the four poster room, which was fantastic (as were all the rooms - we got a sneaky peek!). The bathroom was luxurious with fluffy towels and bathrobes, and heated floor!

The shared lounge was fantastic, it would be worth coming back in the winter just to make use of the two log burners! Lots of magazines and books and despite being a huge room with a high ceiling and stunning stained glass window, it was very cosy and welcoming.
Breakfast was brilliant! A huge long tick list for you to select what you would like to eat/drink, catering for every taste.

Herbie and Hilary made us so welcome, from the minute we arrived we felt like family. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to treat ourselves to another night here sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clock73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We would like to thank our hosts for the amazing acccomondation!
They were very warm and hospitable. We can't wait to visit them again soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Lovely building, beautifully decorated in a quiet village convenient for the Aberdeen/Inverness road and close to Speyside and the Moray Firth/Loch Ness. Welcoming and attentive hosts, large and well thought out rooms with the added bonus of a big lounge for the evening. Nice breakfasts set you up for the day!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnivalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Old Kirk offers very good 4* Scottish Tourist Board value, with lovely high ceilinged, well furnished and decorated rooms with all mod cons(except Wifi).The lounge is dramatic but cosy , featuring high church beams, a huge stained glass window and a log burning stove. Breakfast is traditional Scottish with varied choice. Herbie and Hilary are very friendly attentive hosts. The house is well situated for exploring the whole Moray coast, especially nearbye Brodie castle, Findhorn and Culbin Forest. The quiet back roads around Dyke and the paths through the forest are ideal for cycling. Dyke to Nairn on back roads and shore paths,20mls return and Dyke to Findhorn bay through the forest 13 mls return.Many eateries around-Amici in Forres recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Spent 2 nights at The Od Kirk, a lovely, unique property with great hosts who made us feel very comfortable and at home. There is a lovely lounge with a log-burning stove that we could not make use of as we were out on both evenings. We were shown the other rooms before we left, and they are all lovely. The cooked breakfasts were lovely as well. If we are back in the area, there is only one place we would stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandmichael17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forres hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tullochwood Lodges
Tullochwood Lodges
#1 of 1 in Rafford
56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
232 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old Mill Inn
Old Mill Inn
#3 of 17 in Forres
16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sourbank Farmhouse B&B
Sourbank Farmhouse B&B
#2 of 2 in Rafford
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Kirk

Address: Dyke, Forres IV36 2TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Kirk Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing