We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit special!”
Review of The Old Kirk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Kirk
Ranked #2 of 15 Forres B&B and Inns
Grays, Essex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A bit special!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife, daughter and two cousins from Australia stayed here for three nights whilst attending a wedding at Brodie Castle nearby. Before booking I had looked at reviews on this site and found 39 excellent reviews and 1 good. I thought that this place sounds pretty special.

We found it exceeded our expectations. The hosts, Hilary and Herbie, were most welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay very enjoyable. The whole décor of the building is wonderful and extremely tastefully done. The breakfasts were superb, and I was able to try haggis for the very first time! Herbie even managed to convince me to try some of his porridge - to be recommended.

We all agreed that out of all the places we have stayed before that this was certainly the best.

If in the area again we will certainly be booking early in the hope of staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapyeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at The Old Kirk after travelling up for a wedding weekend - I must say what a wonderful surprise we had when we arrived at this former church now converted to a fantastic home and B/B - every room was so tastefully decorated to a very high standard - owners Hilary and Herbie were wonderful hosts especially when we arrived.Lovely to meet you both and thank you again for a very nice stay - hopefully see you again on our next visit - lots more to explore - Sue and Bill

Room Tip: All three rooms are very nice indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Old Kirk is a charming converted church. My room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was lovely. The proprietors, Hilary and Herbie, were very welcoming! I can certainly recommend staying here. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RussandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I always pick lovely places to stay, but this was the best B&B ever....we've stayed in worse hotels!! You get the very best features of a church, the peace, the beautiful stained glass window, etc without the "churchy" feeling.
The decor was luxurious, well maintained and very calming, everything looked as though it had been decorated and just unwrapped for our stay. Our room was the twin one, and we had the best bathroom I've ever seen, with a large, long bath and a good shower. The towels were as thick as blankets. The beds were so comfortable I had no problem sleeping, and the finishing touches in the room, beautiful.
What sets this apart is the space you get to use in the building, a bright breakfast room, a cosy library and the magnificent sitting room. On arrival Hilary brought out the seat cover for the arbour bench and we sat outside in the sun listening to the birds. When you look at the pictures online, you know it will be fabulous, but add to that seeing it for real and the hosts' friendly approach you'll be knocked out. At breakfast Herbie knew all our names and chatted about our plans, it felt like we were part of the family.
We were lucky enough to have a look at the other rooms during the change over, and you wouldn't be disappointed with any of them. You certainly won't want to leave.
It's a long journey for us, but we will definitely return and stay for longer.
Thank you Hilary and Herbie for sharing your gem with us.

Room Tip: Our twin bed room was sunny and had the benefit of a very large bathroom with huge bath and a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakelovers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Old Kirk is luxurious, and immaculate. The breakfast is vast and nothing in terms of food or service is a problem to Hilary and Herbie. You will be warmly welcomed and made to feel at home.
They have huge local knowledge. We have stayed there many times.

During our recent stay, I contracted bronchitis and Hilary and Herbie could not have been more concerned and helpful. They could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelaide81Broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Old Kirk was hands down one of the loveliest places we have ever stayed. The owners greeted us with a warm welcome that continued throughout our stay. Questions on what to see, where to eat, what to avoid were always welcomed and answered with great knowledge in addition to all the information provided in room. The facilities themselves were well appointed, clean and cared for with great attention. Luxurious bedding, fresh soft towels! The setting could not be more idyllic, we have not slept in such peace for some time! A wonderful breakfast was freshly cooked by each of our preferences and we were kindly introduced to our tablemates each morning! My only complaint is that our stay was not long enough- we will be back longer next time! Every care was taken to ensure we had a perfect stay. Thank you Hilary and Herbie!

Room Tip: Limited rooms so book early- you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Old Kirk last weekend and it was just perfect. The place is lovely, very clean and stylish, and Hilary and Herbie who own it are delightful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
3.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
251 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
875 reviews
13.1 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
7.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Kirk

Property: The Old Kirk
Address: Dyke, Forres IV36 2TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Kirk Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing