We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and setting ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosset Tavern

Mosset Tavern
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mosset Tavern is a family orientated pub restaurant in the heart of Forres, ideal for the whisky trail. Large parties welcome. Plenty of parking. Large function suite catering for all types of functions especially weddings.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value and setting ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

4 of us went there for a birthday supper got there at7 and before we knew it it was 11 o'clock all of the staff were very accommodating and the food was first class I had the tattie soup and roast beef with all the trimmings which were top notch . And several drinks later we had a very enjoyable night . Would highly recommend visiting the mosset tavern

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon B, Owner at Mosset Tavern, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We were really pleased to read your review on our place. Both front and back of house staff try to ensure that all guest experience's are that of yours. We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our fantastic new menu.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Gordon Brailsford
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    140
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Dined at the Mosset a couple of times in the last few months, and it has been excellent on both occasion very welcoming and a nice atmosphere in the restaurant area, super clean too. We manage to finish off a great day in Forres recently, after the piping hot event in the towns park, and called for a table early evening, in which they were highly accommodating in helping us secure a table that evening. Beautiful location and surroundings our young one enjoyed the ducks outside, by the water.

I would recommend this great place to visit with young family, staff are all on the ball and friendly, menu choice is great, children's selection is also very good and reasonably priced, all meals served in timely manner, even when busy.

Its clear to see management have a keen interest and hands on input into the success of this establishment. From what we could see, it is advisable to book in advance, to reserve a table, we were lucky to get squeezed in for a booking on our last visit, evidence of a good few people sadly turned away because of no reservation that night. Will return I am sure, to check out more, especially the tempting cocktails, Mmmmm!

Helpful?
Thank 2manyreveiwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb venue for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The restaurant has a warm and cosy feeling whist being modern and inviting. The menu was very extensive with daily specials for all courses. There was plenty of choice for children and they even served smaller portions for those with a smaller appetite like my 89 year old mother. The food was beautifully presented and piping hot. Every mouthful was delicious. The chef/kitchen clearly has a good eye for new trends and takes pride in what is produced. The portions were generous and excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. They had colouring gear for the kiddies which kept them entertained. This is clearly a very popular restaurant where booking is essential on many of the evenings and Sunday lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good quality and pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Mosset several times over the past few years, today was the first time with my little granddaughter. The staff were very friendly and quickly provided a high chair, which was excellent. Both my wife and I had the lunchtime menu, and had the pate for starters, nice to see that they are serving more oatcakes with the pate. I had the haddock gougons with chips which was very tasty, a nice crisp batter and the fish was cooked to perfection. My wife had a steak baguette which looked very well filled, just a bit too much oil with the steak made the baguette a bit soggy and greasy. I have always found the red wine a little bit on the warm side in the Mosset, maybe time to rethink the storing as it was warm again today. All in all a pleasant experience - I would still go back and would recommend it as a top end pub grub experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ACV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
355 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Food was lovely. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Very child friendly witha bouncy castle for kids oin a sunday. The carvery was lovely and alll well priced. Cnt fault this place was lovely and would return if in the area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mosset Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing