We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morven Guest House
Ranked #4 of 16 Forres B&B and Inns
Heathfield
1 review
“Ideal place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed with a family group in February. We occupied 2 of the 3 rooms which proved to be great value for money. The guest house and rooms are very well presented and immaculately clean.
Breakfasts are fantastic! Cereals and/or cooked breakfast....will please everyone.
Well located, with the coast or hills a short distance away.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowlingHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I would like to say a big thank you for your kind words in your review today ..It was my pleasure to have you and your family members to stay at Morven this week; you are all most welcome at anytime.. Glad also you enjoyed your excursion to the Cairngorm mountain railway.. Kind regards Barbara Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
15
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We only stayed one night with Mrs MacDonald, but she was extremely kind and helpful. The ensuite room was bright, cheerful and immaculately clean. The choice of items for breakfast was extensive and most unusual for a B&B - as vegans we felt very well catered for. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirepride2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review for Morven Bed and Breakfast yesterday it was my pleasure to have you both stay and so good to talk to you so interesting changing life stories, you are most welcome at anytime Kind Regards Barbara Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavelanet France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Barbara Macdonald has thought of everything for the comfort of her guests, from the automatic lighting in the hallways and stairs to the extras which she supplies in the rooms. Her breakfasts are very good too with plenty of choice from an array of carefully chosen cereals, health foods and yoghurts etc. Barbara is also a great cook and I found her porridge and poached eggs absolute perfection. The picnic which Barbara so generously provided for our onward journey was amazing. In addition to all this Barbara is a great hostess who really makes you feel at home in her house. I was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Mary thank you for your review It was good of to write such wonderful comments I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay as I enjoyed you and your sisters company really glad also the picnic was to your taste it was a long journey ahead for you both! Welcome back to Morven at anytime my pleasure Kind Regards Barbara and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

From the moment of stepping inside and being greeted by our host, Barbara, the whole 5 day experience was faultless. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and the breakfast choice AMAZING! Would certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Jill I would like to say thank you so much for your great review it was really nice to meet you and your sister, I was glad you were both so comfortable and you are welcome at anytime to morven hope to meet you on another visit Kind Regards Barbara and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I had a very comfortable night in one of the twin rooms. The room was equipped with tea making facilities and it was very clean. The en-suite was adequately sized and this was also very clean. There was a great variety for breakfast and it was very good - they even had redbush tea. The host completed the experience, making me feel very comfortable and relaxed. I've stayed in an array of places throughout the world and I would happily recommend Movern for anyone wanting to stay in Forres.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Pinny I would like to say a big thank you for your review yesterday...Amazing... You would be more than welcome at anytime to stay.. I enjoyed listening to your story about your career wish you all the very best on your travels.. Kind regards Barbara..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at Morven for a few days whilst up visiting my elderly aunt in Elgin. I was made to feel immediately at home as soon as I entered the door .My room had everything to be expected in terms of comfort and cleanliness . The breakfasts were superb -I could order anything that I wanted from porridge, cereals, fresh friuit, and a full Scottish cooked breakfast-i didn't need lunch after this!

Barbara was very welcoming and hospitable and I particularly enjoyed her conversation during breakfast covering a myriad of topics including our respective Gaelic backgrounds.

I look forward to coming again Barbara next year .

All the best

Tony

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Tony I should like to say thank you for your response on trip advisor today .. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay ..I also enjoyed out chats putting the world to rights so funny being on the same page with the rights and wrongs of today Kind Regards Barbara..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a find this B&B is! Superb accommodation and Barbara is the perfect host who cannot do enough to make her guests feel welcome. The breakfasts offer a wide choice and set us up for the day ahead. We would unreservedly recommend this B&b and look forward to going back their next time we are staying in Forres..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morvenforres, Owner at Morven Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Mike like to say thank you so much for your review I received today I enjoyed meeting you both its nice to talk and be able to enjoy your holiday journeys with you kind regards Barbara ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.6 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
9.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
7.5 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven Guest House

Property: Morven Guest House
Address: Morven Caroline Street, Forres IV36 1AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morven is a Victorian House situated in the heart of Forres Town Centre...A friendly welcome always rooms are comfortable and relaxed...A good location for the High Street and Shopping with helpful local people...Grant Park is along the east of High Street winners of many Floral Awards for the beautiful gardens with a woodland walk leading up to Nelsons Tower which over looks the Moray Firth just breath taking...Benromach Distillery is a short 10 minutes walk away...Findhorn Beach is 4 Miles with great views of the Moray Firth and Mountains...Woodland walks are close by at Culbin Forrest and Roseisle Beach... There are two local Golf Courses within minutes one in Forres and another at Kinloss... Daily Tickets available...Plenty of good local restaurant's within walking distance.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morven Guest House Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing