We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amici Ristorante - CLOSED

Amici Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Amici Ristorante is situated in the centre of Forres, on the High Street opposite St Laurence Church. It is externally finished in keeping with the listed building it occupies. Internally the dining room is furnished in a modern way wuth authentic Italian ceramics and images.
Moray
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

What a lovely little restaurant, easily found and parking nearby. Dined out with three friends, we all had different starters/main. Each course was beautifully presented and plentiful. The house wine was a good choice also. We all commented on how delicious the dishes were and served piping hot. Only two of us managed dessert. The bill was very reasonable. The staff were excellent and the restaurant was well presented, bright and clean. A little gem which should be more appreciated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moraycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“We must have been unlucky!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed for two nights in Forres, and the hotel meal was not all that great o our first night, so we tried the Amici, based on its reviews in Tripadvisor.

It is a small restaurant, but then, so are many, but our first disappointment came when we asked for Campari as an aperitif. Not only did they not have any, but they had never heard of it! This in an Italian restaurant!

The meal was fine, but not outstanding, and the portions were certainly ample.

Perhaps it was the chef's night off, but I don't think that this restaurant deserves the rave reviews it has been receiving.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Itailian food at its best. The restaurant is small and would certainly benefit by having larger premises, as it has great potential to be a very popular venue. The chef is one of the best, producing excellent Italian dishes, just like Augusto who formally had a great ristorante in Garelochhead, where diners regularly travelled out of the city of Glasgow to visit his ristorante in this small village.

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is our favourite restaurant in Forres. Authentic Italian Cuisine with great staff. Our kids never leave an empty plate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OMG_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I was up on business in the area and ddn't fancy the hotel food and came across this place. The food was out of this world, great service and a reasonable house red. I would highly recommend Amici Ristorante for lunch or evening meal.

Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing