We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, nice decor.”

The Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Olive Tree Cafe is a coffee shop that currently seats 90 indoors and has a beautiful courtyard outside for further dining. There is a lovely mezzanine area upstairs for relaxing over a newspaper or magazine whilst enjoying a freshly baked treat with a hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. As part of a converted steading there are many different independently owned businesses offering various shops for visitors to enjoy. The cafe makes all of its food and cakes freshly on the premises using the freshest of ingredients. With an adult's and children's menu, delicious coffee and a variety of teas we enjoy catering for all tastes. There is a play area for children and disabled access for those who need it.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, nice decor.”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Have visited this cafe on a few occasions whilst on holiday in area, and have never been disappointed. A great location, within Logie Steadings visitor centre, nice decor, good food and service with a smile.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us whilst on your holiday. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stop on a long bike ride”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A fantastic place to stop on a long bike ride, well worth planning your ride to arrive in time for some lunch. I had soup & bread, the soup was excellent, the bread home made and the coffee afterwards very nice. The staff treated me with respect (despite being a cyclist) and the setting is just super especially with the 'add-ons' like the book shop and garden. Definitely a recommended destination whether in a bike on in a car

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to our café. We have many cyclists who visit us and in fact have a 75 year old who cycles to Logie three times a week and has been cycling there for years. Logie Steading is set in such stunning scenery that we enjoy welcoming everyone whether walkers, cyclists, families or people just travelling down the road by car. We are so glad that you enjoyed your lunch and coffee with us and also the other shops too. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What happened to "Treats"?”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We'd been to the cafe at Logie Steading many times and always found it to be a great place with slowly prepared, excellent food. Now it has changed hands and changed names as well. Initially, after the handover, all was well, but the last time we visited we were quite disappointed.

We were kept waiting to place our order at the till whilst the staff member (or owner) spent about five minutes on the phone explaining the menu to someone. Meanwhile the queue was building.

Next, over half of the tables has a reserved sign on them which meant that it was difficult to find a free table. During the 45 minutes or so that we were there, non of the "reserved" tables was taken.

The confusion created by this system of reservations was such that it forced people to ask if they could share a table with others. If you want me to be polite please don't ask me if it's OK to sit with us!

So, all in all, a disappointment and it's such a shame because when it was called "Treats at Logie" all was fine!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. When we took over the café everything was very new to us and there were inevitable teething problems. The problem of space has continued and we are very much looking forward to moving across the courtyard this year to a bigger part of the steading so that overcrowding and extensive queuing will be a thing of the past! Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing