We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Monday afternoon”

The Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are open 7 days a week from 10am - 4pm in February and from 10am - 5pm from March right up until Christmas. The Olive Tree Cafe is a coffee shop that currently seats 90 indoors and has a beautiful courtyard outside for further dining. There is a lovely mezzanine area upstairs for relaxing over a newspaper or magazine whilst enjoying a freshly baked treat with a hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. As part of a converted steading there are many different independently owned businesses offering various shops for visitors to enjoy. The cafe makes all of its food and cakes freshly on the premises using the freshest of ingredients. With an adult's and children's menu, delicious coffee and a variety of teas we enjoy catering for all tastes. There is a play area for children and disabled access for those who need it.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First visit to Logie Steadings and certainly will visit again very interesting shops and cafe. The food at the Olive Tree was excellent, we tried all 4 of the starters and the home baking was very tasty. Friendly staff and fresh clean surroundings. Will certainly make a return visit when back in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We are locals who use this wonderful cafe regularly but only today decided to sample the new venue. We felt it only fair on the Hosts to let the initial chaos settle down before we would visit and I feel hummybea 1 should have had the same forethought before penning what I consider to be an unfair crit of the cafe. They were wholly overwhelmed on the first weekends of opening which only goes to prove the popularity of this wonderful place and indeed the warm welcome of Jill and Weller.
Special mention has to be made of the tasteful but simple decor and also the new furnishings. The cafe is very airy but retains the tranquil warm ambiance of the previous smaller venue. No need for raised voices here as there is no obtrusive music blaring in the background.
The upper lounge area with the leather couches and coffee tables is a superb addition for those who just wish peace and quiet in order to relax and enjoy the excellent coffee, tea,refreshments and home bakes, whilst reading the daily newspapers and magazines which are also supplied.
The genuine friendliness of all the staff further compliments the varied and beautifully cooked and presented food on offer. Our Most Sincere Congratulations !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dunphail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is so nice that you appreciate that we were only able to sort out any flaws once we were open and in operation. It is lovely that you understand that the first couple of weekends were extremely busy and that even we were still finding our feet in the new premises. Thank you so much for your support and we very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had lunch here today waited while they made coffee to be given a seat waited 10 minutes to give the order then another 42 minutes before we got the food. As usual food good but they need to sort out the chaos or they will lose customers I for one will take some convincing to return and I am a regular customer at the old cafe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hummybea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologise that you had to wait so long for your food, we were inundated the first couple of weekends and were still finding our feet in the new premises. We have changed the queuing system which has been a great success over the past couple of weekends. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My favourite cafe has just expanded. It has moved about 50 yards across the courtyard and now has ample room for its ever expanding customer base.

The cafe is set beside some lovely walks and garden by the Findhorn River. The food is all prepared on the premises from quality ingredients. The menu has soups, venison burgers, ciabatta sandwich, stew, salmon fish cakes. Whatever you try it will be lovely. They serve real coffee from an expresso machine, teas, soft drinks and beer.

If you want quality food at a reasonable price served by friendly folk with the option for nice walks as well, then this is the place for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciated the support from so many loyal customers during our first weekend in the new premises. It is very important to us to get feedback from our customers and we are very glad that you had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Oh no! The cafe has moved into larger premises. Today was the first day after the relocation.

We have always enjoyed eating here in the past so we hope that things settle down soon...

First up there is a new system whereby one has to queue to be allocated a table. Despite there being a large sign about this on the blackboard near the door, many of the "right-on" tree-huggers who now frequent the Olive Tree (along with their right-on, unsupervised offspring), simply ignored this and chose their own tables.

So, here we are waiting in the long queue for a table with only a couple of staff manning the counter. About ten minutes later we secured a "table-tag" with the number of our allocated table on it.

After sitting down for a few minutes to examine the menu, we had to queue for a second time to place the order. By this time the queue was halfway out of the door so another ten minutes or so passed.

Feng Shui, is obviously anathema to whoever designed the new layout:

- The fridge with cold drinks is behind the queue;
- The trays are also under the counter alongside the fridge.

Nobody knows to take cold drinks or a tray before getting to the order point so, people from the head of the queue have to go back to pick-up drinks and trays - cue "queue" chaos!

Now, with a full restaurant and only two staff taking orders (as well as assigning tables and taking payments) the whole process was quite tedious.

Sitting down again, we waited for another long period for food to arrive...

So, Olive Tree, please get your act together. What about having a separate table allocation spot near the door? Maybe also think about using waitress service to take the orders. This would free up the queue and avoid having to queue at least twice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment and for visiting us on our first day open in the new premises. We appreciate that due to how busy we were there may have been a rather large queue. It is important for us to know what the customers experience so we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing