We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

The Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Olive Tree Cafe is a coffee shop that currently seats 90 indoors and has a beautiful courtyard outside for further dining. There is a lovely mezzanine area upstairs for relaxing over a newspaper or magazine whilst enjoying a freshly baked treat with a hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. As part of a converted steading there are many different independently owned businesses offering various shops for visitors to enjoy. The cafe makes all of its food and cakes freshly on the premises using the freshest of ingredients. With an adult's and children's menu, delicious coffee and a variety of teas we enjoy catering for all tastes. There is a play area for children and disabled access for those who need it.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went to Logie Steading for a quick lunch and didn't get it - well the quick bit ! Waited almost an hour for 2 "prepared" meals, - 1 soup and 1 pate. It wasn't overly busy but there was a queue as usual at the till. We were told we'd have a 20 minute wait. I don't see the point in the tags - is it an order or table number? The Waitresses don't seem to get the point either. There were several tables cluttered with used dishes and I chose, with some trepidation, a table that had still got a tag and an empty tray on it hoping that I wasn't taking someone's pre booked space - I wasn't. IN the middle was a table of at least 6 adults and 2 children who were all exasperated at the wait, Beside us a couple with a disabled daughter had already been waiting for an 40 minutes. Young lassies were drifting in and out with plates of food looking for a claimant! The order for the family group eventually came and was all wrong and their hot drinks were cold. The couple's order came after they had asked but their baked potatoes were cold and sent back. They reordered and when that failed to appear they left. Two ladies cancelled their food order and had a coffee and piece of cake. The waitress were surly and uninformed . There was a total lack of organisation and nothing that resembled good service. Come on Olive Tree, get your act together! It is such a beautiful setting and could be a wonderful dining experience. You have over stepped the mark and have neither the kitchen capacity or staff trained ( seemed like they were all Saturday Girls!) to provide the service the paying diner is looking for and deserves. Suggest you either deconstruct the menu and offer just coffee shop grub and soup and sandwiches - forget the garnish. OR get a bigger kitchen and trained Staff and put someone who is strong and efficient in charge. It could be the sort of place we would take visitors with pride in our beautiful home area but it isn't. Don't let yourselves and your customers down. The food, when it came, was fine - Hubby had what we call "Ghost Toast" with his Pate and my soup was cool - not cold but not hot enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a constructive review. I can only apologise for your disappointing visit. Since we moved the cafe to its larger premises we have had to take on many new staff members who are still learning on the job whilst being so extremely busy. Our main cook also went home sick suddenly on Saturday morning. All in all we know that it is hugely disappointing and unacceptable to wait so long for food and for the food not to be of the highest quality when it arrives. We are focusing on our staff training and with more experience the high standard of service and food will definitely return. Many apologies again but thank you for writing your review as our customer's feedback is extremely important and useful to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for The Olive Tree Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I booked lunch for a group of twenty friends who were walking The Dava Way and going past Logie Steading. We arrived 30 minutes before our arranged time but that was no problem for The Olive Tree. We were made very welcome and our various orders were taken quickly at the counter. The freshly prepared food was soon delivered to our tables and was of excellent quality.

After lunch, a member of staff thanked us for coming to The Olive Tree and asked about our walking route.

All of my friends made a point of telling me how much they had enjoyed lunch at The Olive Tree and several commented on what great value their meal had been.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ramsay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about our cafe. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Just a quick visit for a coffee and cake, but we'll definitely return for a lunch! Really good coffee at reasonable prices.

1  Thank thunderbird30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and coffee with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came back here in April as, judging by other reviews on here, things seemed to have picked up.

Can I only say that they haven't?

Now to fill the rest of the space as there is a 200 character minimum for a review.

The fundamental flaw here is that, with the new cafe, the seating area doubled, tripled or quadrupled in size but the counter, where one orders, has stayed the same size. Hence the chaos and bottlenecks.

Right, the table allocating system is now self-service with the table tags hanging on a board near to the door but a lot of customers ignore this and sit right on down! The relentless queuing and waiting then starts.

There used to be specials on the menu but now the only thing which changes is the soup.

When sat in the main area near the door, counter and stairs up to the comfy area (where meals are banned??) one feels like one is sat in an corridor.

Finally, is the usage of salad dressing monitored to ensure that it is always fresh? With a bottle on each table now I fear that the oil may be stale and that, of course, affects the taste and "after-taste".

The solution to a lot of the woes described here would be to have proper waitress service. Why not visit Harbour Lights in Lossiemouth to see how it's done?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review. We have recently extended our counter area to cope better with the queue. We have also changed our tagging system so that customers can sit down on arrival and then are issued an order number with their lunch. We have also changed the layout so that the entrance area is less cramped. Due to how busy we are I can assure you that our salad dressing bottles are emptied every couple of days and then cleaned and refilled with fresh dressing. Thank you for your comments, please do make yourself known the next time you're in if you have any other concerns about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had lunch at the Olive Tree today the new café is so calm and clean.. The Chicken Panini was really tasty the salad was so fresh we also had the Quiche with salad I must say one of my favourite places to eat

Thank morvenforres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Morven, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our cafe. We look forward to seeing you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing