We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Escape”
Review of Newbold House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbold House
1 review
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was an amazing find. If you're looking for a re-boost among beautiful settings and wonderful people with extraordinarily attention to detail and fantastic value for money, then Newbold House is the place! I stayed here on a tailor-made retreat with my husband - both burnt-out Londoners - and we returned to The Smoke relaxed, refreshed and inspired. There are flexible options at the house - we booked with the fabulous Deborah who arranged private yoga classes, complementary therapies and bush craft classes for us (there's much more on offer besides). She couldn't have done more to make our stay such a success - she even bought our dinner to our room when we felt sleepy! The house is part of a charitable trust that is doing wonderful things for preservation and raising awareness of environmental issues. I'd book in fast as they are bound to get busier and busier! Jane J

Room Tip: There are a variety of large, airy rooms - all seemed very nice and ours had a gorgeous view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for this feedback - it is always fantastic to know that we can support burnt-out Londoners... There are far too many of you out there! It was a real pleasure and fun to have you both and hope to have you back late summer x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I simply can't adequately express how wonderful my stay was at Newbold House. I was there for a one week retreat. I had been hoping to feel slightly rested after an extremely stressful and difficult 8 months, but what I got out of my stay at Newbold House was more than I could ever have imagined. I feel completely rejuvenated and feel almost like a different person! I feel so grateful to Newbold House, and to Deborah in particular, who is fantastic at her job, and went out of her way to give me the kind of retreat that would be best for me. I feel so grateful to her, and to everyone else at Newbold for making my stay so perfect. I am on a very strict diet, but they cooked special meals for me and went out of their way to give me food which I could eat... and it was all absolutely delicious!!! I am so very grateful. I would say that my short stay at Newbold House has been life changing -and I realise that may sound strange to someone who hasn't been to stay there yet- but it's absolutely true. I can't recommend Newbold House highly enough. And I am definitely going to go back! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your generous and lovely review! Yours was exactly the kind of experience we want to offer...and we are so happy you had that experience. It was a total delight having you with us - we all want you to come back!
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I just can't say enough about my experience with the Newbold House. I traveled there with my daughter for a meditation retreat after a 5 week tour of Europe. Deborah was just amazing with getting the entire retreat planned. She catered to our desires and put together the perfect package for us. She even went out of her way to locate a stable so that we could take a lesson in Horseback Riding! She was easy to work with, and super-responsive! The house is beautiful, serene, and calming, and the people are the same. All of the staff and volunteers made us feel welcome and at home. It truly felt as though we could stay forever.....and we wanted to by the end of our visit! We awoke every morning to meditate and sing with the staff. What a beautiful way to start the day! The food was just unbelievable as well. It was filling, nourishing, and delicious! We tried many different treatments including Shamanic Soul Retrieval, Aura Soma (those were my favorites), Reiki, Therapeutic body massage. And Heather gives the best and most relaxing massages! The house is cozy enough that you never feel alone, but private enough that you can be alone whenever you want. It truly was a perfect experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review, Jenni. It was great to have you both join us. Such excitement and enthusiasm was a joy to have the house. You were up for trying everything on offer and that's what makes what we do totally worth it! We really hope to see you again.
Deborah xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was looking for a place for my Mum and I to spend Christmas that gave us a sense of community, and luckily stumbled upon Newbold House. Reading the description it seemed to be everything I was looking for and I was nervous I'd hit on something that sounded too good to be true! I needn't have worried.
It was all so straightforward from the outset. There's no sense of "business", just very professional friendliness which makes you feel instantly comfortable and welcome.
We arrived quite early in the day and the room was all set up and ready for us and from there it just got better. The community members are all very warm and friendly, as are the volunteers. Every meal is fresh, delicious and there's plenty for everyone. Activities were set out but adaptable when needed and the sense of peace and tranqulity is mind-opening in so many ways. Living near and working in London can be quite a harsh place. Newbold House shows you the flip side of that!
The house itself is beautiful, spacious and warm (log fires on the go all day when it's cold). Despite it being mid-winter the gardens and allotment were tended beautifully and were a lovely place to wander around.
I'd recommend Newbold House for anyone requiring a personal recharge or just a cosy and relaxed getaway. Everyone at Newbold House made us, as guests feel like welcome visitors.

Room Tip: From my understanding, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having had a stressful time in our lives, we were looking for a break that would allow us time to reflect, laugh, relax and enjoy. Newbold gave us all that.

If you are looking for disco's, lots of noise, lots of hussle and bustle Newbold is not for you.

The house itself is set back off the road off the quiet village of Forres but it isn't isolated either. The house is big, old fashioned, traditional and relaxing. The gardens are quiet, and peaceful. The staff and volunteers are warm, friendly but not intrusive. The food - all homemade and where possible resourced either on the land itself or locally - is tasty, wholesome and so good!

It is great for exploring around the area and there is lots to see and do - it is situated between Innverness and Aberdeen. Local transport is good, parking facilities in the house grounds are good.


The holiday is suitable for families, couples, friends and also solo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at Newbold House while training with Marlene Butler had a wonderful time and lovely food with amazing people. Enjoyed fantastic walks on the beach every morning and watching the sunset in the evening

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazingav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your generous kind review - we hope to host you again soon. Yes, the sunset and the beach still fantastic in November!
- Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My idea: Scotland, as I love its energy; retreat and pampering: to bring together spiritual and physical wellbeing; relax and definitely: nature. My search took me to Newbold House.

From the moment of my first inquiry to the planning to the stay itself I encountered care, respect and warmth. Deborah W did an amazing job of finding the perfect activities and treatments that suited me and went out of her way to even take me up to Findhorn. Really worthwhile the visit.

The food was tasty, varied and healthy. The rooms calm and cozy. The gardens, the woods around, all gorgeous places to walk in or sit down with a book. Perfect atmosphere for writing and reading and definitely for relaxation.

Everyone from the permanent residents to the volunteers, WWoofers and other guests made my stay rich in sharing and joy.

Miss you guys already and will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Leslie - thank you for a gorgeous review. It was a pleasure to host you and hang out and eat and chat as well! Also, your work in the garden was appreciated by us all - especially our volunteers who loved your company. Go well and come back to us! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.9 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
10.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbold House

Property: Newbold House
Address: 111 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbold House is a beautiful 'Eco-Mansion' - an 19th century Victorian building now run by us on sustainable principles. We are a nature-based retreat and well-being centre, B&B and workshop venue,surrounded by 7 acres of beautiful grounds including a large organic veg garden. The property backs onto woodland with walking trails full of wildlife including deer, badgers, red squirrels and pine martens. Every room is a beautiful space, with locally sourced antique linens,china, books and period details such as stained glass and original fireplaces. There are 7 rooms – singles, twins and two rooms able to accommodate up to 5 beds for families or friends sharing. All rooms have their own hand basin, are a good size and have lovely views of the surrounding gardens and woods. There is free Wi-Fi access throughout the house.If you prefer a more rustic experience you can also choose to stay in one of comfortably furnished bell tents, decorated with vintage furniture and accessories. Along with our chickens we have a ‘bee garden’, traditional Shamanic sweat lodge, a garden stupa (Buddhist prayer tower) for outdoor meditation and a classic Victorian conservatory. Here, you can sit and enjoy glorious sub-tropical plants, fig and passion flowers. Our house, grounds and surrounding countryside are a great place to re-connect with yourself and with nature and the wellbeing of people and the planet is at the core of what we do. The house is run by a small community with a large skill-set – including an organic farmer, marine biologist, Shamanic Practitioner, green energy expert, musicians and a highly skilled ornamental gardener. Our group mission is to connect people with nature and nurture; teaching and sharing skills for environmental, personal and social well-being. We are based on the outskirts of Forres, in the gorgeous region of Moray Speyside and just 27 miles east of Inverness. A mere 6 miles away is Findhorn Bay, part of a coastline recently voted as one of the world’s best by National Geographic, great for boat trips and a top seal-spotting location.We are also a short ride away from the famous Findhorn Foundation community, Logie Steading, a converted farmstead of local artisans with second-hand bookshops, an art gallery and farm shop. A variety of medieval castles, Pictish monuments, gardens and a wide variety of outdoor activity providers.Homecooked organic, locally-sourced lunches and dinners available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newbold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbold House Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing