We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Skelmorlie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in Knockomie for 2 nights on Valentines weekend, up North on a much-needed break to visit some friends.

Our room was large, comfortable, airy and spotlessly clean. The food turned out to be much better than we expected. In fact, it was so good I ordered exactly the same thing the next night, which I never usually do.

We were tempted by the nearby Boath House hotel in Nairn, but Knockomie seemed to offer better value for money, and I have to say we weren't wrong. We visited the Boath House for a light lunch and were not impressed. By comparison, Knockomie was far more welcoming, homely and comfortable.

What really made the stay for us was the staff who were exceptional and genuinely friendly throughout our stay, and the owners who were very friendly to chat to.

We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    61
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
29
142
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had heard a lot about this hotel and had really looked forward to our stay, unfortunately for us it did not live up to expectations.
Our bedroom although large, had a bed that was smaller than the one that should have been there, the curtains would not meet in the middle (letting light into room ealier than wanted in morning) the floor at back of toilet hadn't been cleaned and toilet seat was cracked and quite unhygienic. The manager on our arival promised to get the seat and curtains fixed by the next day but this did not happen.
We were offered an alternative room, however this was much smaller and next to a downstairs lounge and would therefore have been noisier of an evening.
We did receive a small discount off of our bill but we left with expectations far from met.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 8th and 9th March. On arrival, we were greeted and checked in promptly by a courteous member of staff, who thereafter showed us to a beautiful spacious room. That theme continued throughout our whole stay, with excellent service from all staff who were extremely attentive.
Evening meal on both nights was delicious and great choice from menu. The same applied to breakfast.
Will definitely return to this beautiful hotel as, the staff, food and bedrooms tick all my boxes for a perfect break away.
I have already recommended this hotel to many friends and family

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Warm genuine hospitality from the onset on entering the hotel. The food and service complimented each other with impressive attention to detail , simply summed up as a superb experience, not to be missed. 4 star Hotel with 10 Star effort by all the staff..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Travel over from N Ireland for a few days in Scotland . Picked this hotel through a Internet Deal. When we arrived were meet by Johnnie the hotel manager , great guy , sorted our room quickly and into bar for a wee refreshment! We were starving and it was only 6 . restaurant did not open till 6.30 but he said chef was here and would cook immediately. The benefits of a well run personal hotel. Great nights sleep in a really comfortable bed and up for a freshly cooked breakfast. Penny , one of the owners took time to tell us what to see and where to go and of we went. Back that night for another great meal and after a bit of crac with other residence and a wee dram or 2 it was of to bed. Next morning it was all the same, friendly staff. Will be back ...............some day.:-)

Room Tip: Glenburgle room was very nice with large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myvatn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Lovely hotel tucked away about 5 minutes from the centre of the town of Forres. Very nicely appointed with interesting public rooms and loads of books and games to occupy anyone staying in on a cold Scottish winter day. The room I had was large and comfortable with a large flat panel TV and a big bathroom. The restaurant was very good with well cooked, tasty food and despite eating there on an evening with a large function taking place elsewhere in the building, the service was very good indeed. Breakfast was excellent too. The management was friendly and they went out of their way to accomodate my late return one night. The front bar particularly was a lovely place to spend time. A word of warning, my Sat Nav sold me down the river when using the postcode to locate the hotel. However, it is easy to find. Drive into Forres from the Inverness area, at the roundabout just after the Peugeot garage turn right. Drive for about a mile going straight on at the two roundabouts and very shortly after the second roundabout turn right (past the gatehouse) down the hotel driveway and into the car park. It is a lovely spot, far enough off the road to be really quiet.

Room Tip: I got a good 'out of season' deal on an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed with my husband in December 2012. It was lovely and romantic - delicious food, warm welcome, good location. We had a very enjoyable meal and breakfasts both days. Friendly helpful and personable staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGarnsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
11.8 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
8.8 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing