We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but fully functional.”
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit tired but fully functional.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013. The hotel was very easy to find and from the outside looks beautiful. Also, the surrounding area is idillic. Inside, it is clean and easy to find your way about. The rooms are spacious and the furniture in our room had definitely seen better days. There was a double bed, which for me was small in length. The bathroom, while clean, is carpeted and really needs freshened - it's very old fashioned. However, there is a separate bath and shower which were excellent. The bath filled with piping hot water within minutes and the shower despite being mounted quite low was a power shower. The staff are courteous and polite but perhaps not as friendly as I have experienced. On the whole the food was good, the breakfast was excellent as was our dinner on the second night. I had the haddock on the first night which was quite tasteless. Overall I enjoyed my stay. I would go back as the positives far outweighed any slight issues.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    64
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
145
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at the Knockomie for two nights in the middle of March. The staff are so helpful and friendly and they really make you feel very welcome. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with some great areas to chill out and a nice bar. We ate in the hotel the first night and the quality and service we received were excellent. The food was of very high quality, worth paying for.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere nice in the area to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KowaIski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at Knockomie for two nights in late March with Jock our dog.

The Knockomie team get it right. They are welcoming, friendly and informal without being too familiar, and offered such an attentive, unobtrusive service, that it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

We ate at the hotel on both nights and again, service in the dining room was efficient and well timed. The menu wasn't overladen with choice, but it was well thought out, with hearty options such as slow baked lamb and beef and lighter fish or chicken dishes. Puddings were lovely, and the presentation was uncontrived and attractive.

Our room was a little on the small side, and certainly the decor was a little tired. However, this is a minor point, it was full of period details, high ceilinged, tiled fireplace, beautiful cornicing and the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful. We spent lots of time in the sitting room in front of a roaring stove, or in the bar, and we didn't need to stir for drinks or service - it was fantastically relaxing.

We would definitely recommend the Knockomie, service is excellent, food is great and it's a lovely welcoming building. We loved that Jock got as warm a welcome as we did, and although the weather was pretty lousy, the atmosphere at Knockomie was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a trip to the Highlands to watch a football game at Inverness, it was only 20 minutes away and the drive was pleasant. As we drove up the drive the hotel appeared in front of us, it is a large Victorian country house, we knew then we had made the right choice. We were greeted warmly at reception, shown to a very nice and well presented room overlooking the garden, the shower room was spotless and spacious. Dinner was on a very generous deal with a bottle of wine included and it didn't disappoint, served to us by a friendly waitress who looked like she actually enjoyed serving us. My wife is a vegetarian and was offered choices that pleased her. Breakfast was hearty and the local butchers sausages were special. Yes we intend to return some day.
As we were leaving I discovered my car needed water for the radiator, the owner obliged by bringing me water in a Highland Spring bottle, no less, and he even did the filling up for me - now that's what I call good service :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lackenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed for two nights with our two dogs. We had never been here before but what a warm welcome we got. Had an ideal room with doors going on to the garden which was very handy. Could not fault any if the staff they were all really nice and nothing seemed too much bother for them. Ate in the hotel our first night the food was lovely. Would definitely go back. Thank you to all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmorlie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in Knockomie for 2 nights on Valentines weekend, up North on a much-needed break to visit some friends.

Our room was large, comfortable, airy and spotlessly clean. The food turned out to be much better than we expected. In fact, it was so good I ordered exactly the same thing the next night, which I never usually do.

We were tempted by the nearby Boath House hotel in Nairn, but Knockomie seemed to offer better value for money, and I have to say we weren't wrong. We visited the Boath House for a light lunch and were not impressed. By comparison, Knockomie was far more welcoming, homely and comfortable.

What really made the stay for us was the staff who were exceptional and genuinely friendly throughout our stay, and the owners who were very friendly to chat to.

We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had heard a lot about this hotel and had really looked forward to our stay, unfortunately for us it did not live up to expectations.
Our bedroom although large, had a bed that was smaller than the one that should have been there, the curtains would not meet in the middle (letting light into room ealier than wanted in morning) the floor at back of toilet hadn't been cleaned and toilet seat was cracked and quite unhygienic. The manager on our arival promised to get the seat and curtains fixed by the next day but this did not happen.
We were offered an alternative room, however this was much smaller and next to a downstairs lounge and would therefore have been noisier of an evening.
We did receive a small discount off of our bill but we left with expectations far from met.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
9.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing