We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Knockomie, our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu selection was great and the food was delicious! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    64
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
147
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have known and loved this hotel for many years but moved away from the area and had not been back for a while. The hotel itself is full of character, it has a fabulous whisky bar and the staff are lovely. I do recommend it. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast (we had 2 nights B&B) was not good. The ingredients themselves did not seem to be top quality as you would have expected at the Knockomie (and as they always were in our previous experience) and they were not well cooked. Also the decor needs to be refreshed in places, particularly the bathroom in the large grand master bedroom we had.

Room Tip: Bathroom in grand master bedroom is not very fresh in terms of decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseOSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Secured an excellent online deal for two nights B&B and dinner one night, which we worked out as costing less per night than the average budget/chain hotel in Edinburgh (such as Holiday Inn Express of Travelodge). With this in mind, an excellent stay - helpful, interested staff who were happy to assist with every aspect of our stay, pleasant and clean room (with antique furnishings; clearly individually themed and decorated rather than unimaginative uniformity), and lovely dinner (I think criticism suggesting food is pub grub a little unfair; whilst not true fine dining the a la carte menu was still very tasty for the price). Lovely relaxing bar area with impressive selection of local whisky and premium liqueurs, and several attractive lounge areas with roaring log fires.

Some areas are starting to show wear and tear and need upgrading - the carpet in the corridors and stairwell was starting to become a little threadbear, and woodwork and paint around the bath peeling... Bathroom could do with an upgrade to make it more luxurious, but was still bright and spacious. A bit of further investment in such areas could help bring a luxurious country house air which this just falls short of, but overall we had a very pleasant two night stay, found it an excellent base to explore the local area, and thought value for money (under £200 for 2 nights B&B plus dinner and bottle of wine on night one) very generous indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My partner booked a 2 night stay at knockomie as he had planned to propose to me, the hotel knew about this as my partner informed at booking however when we arrived our room was just basic I feel for the money he paid! There was a room pictured with a large bath however ours was quite small, the wraps around the bed were marked and had holes in them and in general I felt the room was tired and needed a bit of a facelift. The restaurant however was amazing we really enjoyed our meal on the night my partner proposed we also enjoyed the breakfasts in bed. I think this hotel is ok but really not worth the money my partner paid when I found out how much I was very shocked and nothing seemed to have been made special considering what he advised he was doing. The hotel is also near nothing I feel. Nice weekend but not sure I would return as couldn't justify that money again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here a twice before and loved it. Service was always fabulous and the food delicious - beautiful a la carte menu. Not especially cheap but well worth it and what you expect for four star.
We were really disappointed this time around. Staff were very pleasant but poorly trained and inattentive (at breakfast they didn't even clear cereal plates away and the whole dining room was messy). The evening meal was ok but just ok and the choice was really just pub grub and fair (veg was a little soggy and choice overall was strange - all chips based and not what you expect from four star hotel - no a la carte menu). The final straw was breakfast where I ordered haddock. We stay away a lot and I always have fish for breakfast. I actually started laughing when it arrived - it was the tiniest piece of haddock I have ever seen in my life. It fitted on half a side plate......I politely asked for a largerportion and was told that I would have
to pay an extra £2.......crazy! They are clearly cost cutting. We complained and were told they were targeting a different audience more pub based. We won't be back - it's just not a 4 star hotel anymore and not value for money - no longer
comparable to some if it's

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrJANLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Sometimes , on a rare ocaasion we fail or are misunderstood.
On this occasion, I fear we failed to respond to your needs, for which we the Knockomie team say Sorry.
Indeed we have changed over the last 6 Years but not much over the last 4, we have responded to customer feedback where possible. I agree we are more gastro than fine dining which sit's comfortably with us and the vast majority of our guests. A creative menu with local produce and some comfort food.
Where we failed completly was suggesting an extra charge for your haddock = Crazy thinking on our behalf .... Sorry #training for all.
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I run a membership organisation called Highland Craic and regularly hold member Share the Craic lunches. We have now held 2 at the Knockomie. The staff have been most attentive, the arrangements before and on the day being first rate. The menu available is first class and the food beautifully presented and cooked. I am so pleased we have booked lunches through to the end of this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCadboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnockomieForres, Manager at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you,
We really enjoy having Highland Craic join us on a regular basis to share the Craic!
We appreciate being part of your journey and hope we can help you grow bigger and extend your influence.
You can never have too Much Craic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel was was very clean, the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Very good service, extremely clean, great value for money and a delicious breakfast! Thank you Penny and Gavin.I will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnockomieForres, Manager at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you.
We are very Happy you enjoyed your time at Knockomie and your Visit to Moray Speyside.
Look forward to seeing you again, maybe later in the year ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
217 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
411 reviews
6.6 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing