We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
South Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Overall this isn't a bad place at all; it's just not 4 star. Public spaces are nice and the bar is great, but the bedroom and bathroom I had are definately lacking. Staff are friendly and helpful but and it could be great if it gets the investment it needs in the bedroom areas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank marshallized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    61
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
29
142
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Starting our 8 day private Scotland trip with our friends we were disappointed not to get rooms
in Inverness, but in Forres- Knockomie Hotel- but:
1)Driving in the morning to Inverness and visiting again Culloden, the location of Knockomie Hotel of course was perfect
2)Arriving at and staying overnight in the hotel,we were very delighted:
a)welcome was very friendly and helpful with our heavy suitcases
b)the rooms are very comfortable and clean
c)Dinnersteaks and -lamb were excellent
d)As well the ample Scots´breakfast.
3)Service was perfect

Summary:For all of us: a real success!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Refused the first room I was shown because it was like a prison cell. Second room was better but tired and dirty and on the ground floor with glass doors opening in to the garden.
Food was excellent though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SimonPainter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We did a 7 day "castle tour" and stayed one night
at this friendly place where I really felt at home.

The rooms were nice and clean, dinner and breakfast
were very good and the service was just perfect.

Thanks to Agneiszka and Dragos ?!

The only thing I could complain about is that this wasn't a castle
but a nice villa which is not the fault of the owner but of the
travel agency.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robther1pp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely, welcoming hotel in attractive gardens on the outskirts of Forres. Interesting arts and crafts style building, which has been thoughtfully extended. Pleasant public spaces and attractively furnished, large room. Excellent steak at dinner and good breakfast. This was built as a small country house and still has that feel. It could be the set for an Agatha Christie or Cluedo. A great place for a relaxed break, in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghLinda_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and was very disappointed. The drive up to the hotel was very grand and inviting, the building itself did not reflect the same. The entrance was very dark.
We were met by an extremely pleasant young man who checked us in and escorted us to our room. The decor in the hotel was very disjointed and mismatched. Some of the carpets were threadbare.The room itself was very clean but again the decor was dated and no definite theme. The bathroom was modern but no toilet roll holder!
We booked diner. The decor in the dining room was modern. The menu was a sheet of paper ! The choices were ok nothing exciting. We ordered the selection of continental meat and sun blushed tomato to start with - no sun blushed tomato - cherry ! My husband ordered lamb with duphonoise potatoes - mashed potato! At breakfast we had a bit of a wait after we ordered. The waitress eventually told us they had run out of bacon and that someone had gone to the butcher to get more! After our breakfast arrived and we saw the plate, I suspect the bacon came from the local supermarket not the butcher it was Sunday !
We could not fault the staff, very pleasant, polite and professional. I query the rating of the hotel, we have stayed in better and for less! As for it being romantic - I question that too! Will we go again - No.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming, fabulously situated amidst mature trees at the end of a private road, excellent whisky bar (catering for non whisky fans also), very good quality restaurant, tasty cooked breakfast with lots of alternatives available too. Room was a bit tired but otherwise cannot fault the experience. Recommended

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rory182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
9.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
11.8 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
8.8 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing