We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find; what a total gem”
Review of Logie Steading

Logie Steading
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Logie Steading is a collection of stone farm buildings that were given a new lease of life in 1991: they now house several individual businesses including Art Galleries, Antiques & Restoration, Secondhand Books, Crafts, Gifts, Vintage Clothing and Accessories, Whisky & Wine Merchant, a specialist printer, Heritage Centre and Cafe. Logie House Gardens are open throughout the year and there are walks along the River Findhorn - and there is a playpark! Lots to do and see. The businesses open at 10 on Friday, Saturday and Sunday in January and February and every day of the week from the first Friday in March until just before Christmas. Gardens, walks & play park are always open!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“What a find; what a total gem”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Set right out in the country, in the middle of "nowhere" is this total gem called Logie Steading.....you could literally spend the entire day there & still want to go back the next day, it's so good.

There is an excellent tea shop / restaurant serving delicious home bakes as well as lunches. All food is totally yummy.......an extensive array of teas available as well as delicious coffee.

The Steading boasts a huge second hand bookshop which is literally stocked to the roof with all kinds of wonderful & amazing books ......it's so good that I tried to persuade them to lock me in after closing time so I could spend the night browsing......

Also of interest is the newly opened Whisky / Gin / Wine boutique. Different tastings each day. I sampled some amazing artisan gins & purchased a pink grapefruit flavored gin......

There are some interesting clothing shops also on the premises but I didn't explore due to time constraints.

More than adequate free parking available

Do yourself a favor & head on out to Logie Steading - you won't be disappointed....

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogieL, Owner at Logie Steading, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
it is such a joy for us when someone takes the time to tell everyone how they love Logie Steading - we all work hard to make it a good place to visit and happy visitors make it all worthwhile. Thank you! Please spread the word and come back and see us another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    81
    17
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Logie Steading has shops, art galleries and a lovely garden to explore. People in the shops are most helpful and there is plenty of choice.
The cafe was a bit 'militaristic'. Take a table number, line up, choose, pay and then sit at the right table with little charm or customer service skills from the staff. Not a plus to the steading.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide81Broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogieL, Owner at Logie Steading, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Logie, Unfortunately the café is so popular now that we have had to adopt an efficient way of allocating tables; however, I am sorry that the staff weren't their usual friendly selves on the day that you were here. We have a lot of new young staff and sometimes their confidence can be challenged by the pressure of the very busy café. With more experience and training this should all improve! It is always helpful to hear from customers and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went to Logie Steading today really nice a complete change from last year smart clean New shops and Art Gallery definitely worth a visit the café is just stunning crisp and clean brand new. Lunch was a tasty treat and served with a smile Toilets excellent clean and tidy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank morvenforres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogieL, Owner at Logie Steading, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing about your recent visit to Logie Steading. I am so glad you enjoyed all the changes and improvements; after a year of disruption it is really good to be able to give visitors a better experience. Gill and Weller do a fantastic job in the café - even when under pressure they, and their staff, still manage to produce delicious food - and keep smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much potential, not yet realised!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My first visit, and possibly my last.

Logie Steading is in a wonderful setting when we visited in glorious Easter weekend weather.
All services that we could access (park, book shop, w/c, wine and whisky shop, garden/farm shop, felt shop and gallery) were clean and well appointed, beautifully maintained including the cafe. However, this is where we were most disappointed.

I was with a party of four including my toddler daughter. I feel it important to mention that she was well catered for with a train track and other activities for her to take part in, and thank goodness there were as the wait for our food was quite extraordinary. The "Wee Menu" sounds and reads great but is confusing. Upon ordering it still remained unclear what deal was what. The "table tags" system is equally confusing, I think that there is very good reason for this not being a common system in other establishments; an empty table and no tag led us to bother waiting staff anyway - negating the purpose surely?

What was most frustrating was the very long wait for our food, 35 minutes for three of the four meals is not acceptable. None of the meals were overly complicated or bothersome, 2 of the 4 were rolls! And to top this we had to ask where the fourth meal was, 10 minutes after the rest of the party receiving theirs. Once it arrived, (a cheese roll) it came with some wilted salad. Fries are not available at the cafe, that's fine, but we paid for a bowl of crisps that was of an embarrassingly small amount. While the homemade coleslaw was tasty, the portion was very small on each plate. No glasses were offered for our drinks, after waiting 20 minutes for a glass and asking for one, a hot glass near straight out of the dishwasher arrived for our cold drink. When asked for some ice tap water approximately a litre of warm tap water arrived on our table with one glass after we had been informed that "we don't do ice".

These may all seem like small issues, but there seem to be many things amiss that could make the difference between this poor visit and another great one - mainly appropriate staff training and preparation for what was certainly going to be one of the peaks at the very start of the season - especially with such good weather. I must add that the young woman who served us was very gracious, despite the evident lack of training.

When paying, you are expected to join the order queue - which most of the time was very long and slow moving. Also no detail of the bill was presented just a request for the total. Our "tab" was kept open upon order should we wish to order something extra, we would still be there and waiting!

This cafe in this lovely setting has yet to reach its potential - we hope it improves.
We enjoyed what was left to visit of the Steading, but it was particularly unfortunate that the entire time we were there, approximately 2.5 hours, the antique shop (one of the main reasons we had visited) had a wee note in the door window saying "Back in 30 minutes. Apologies". The longest 30 minutes I've known!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuthag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a well thought review. This has been our first weekend under serious pressure since moving into the new premises .... plainly there are improvements to be made. it is so helpful when people write constructive reviews like yours and we much appreciate your suggestions. We will hope to make many changes to ensure that we can cope in the summer months - a lovely sunny Easter has certainly found us out! Thank you and I do hope you will come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“service and food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

not our first visit,maybe our last sorry.Having ordered food and toldthere may be a delay we said it was ok fresh food yes we were prepared to wait and we did !!.Whilst waiting we saw 7 lots of refunds given all who were very displeased and most had waited 50mins.We waited about 25mins and think we got ours early because of the others that had canceled.The food was alright nothing special really .With the menu as it is not a lot of cooked food so having been in catering all my life could not understand the backlog in the kitchen obviously need more training and more prep .It did put a whole new meaning in the blurb about it being slow food !!!
Need to get you act together summer is comingSorry.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Barbara thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Logie Steading. I am really sorry that you had to wait so long for your lunch - the sunshine certainly brought a huge number of people to the café over the Easter weekend. We do prepare as much as we can in advance but, in order to produce the food to its best advantage, we do not take short cuts and that is what is appreciated by visitors to The Olive Tree café. I hope you will find time to come and visit again - but maybe during the week when it is not quite so busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logie Steading also viewed

 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Kinloss, Moray
 

Been to Logie Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing