We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent bistro”

The Loft Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Forres
Price range: US$1 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Loft Coffee Shop is a relaxed place to enjoy great food. Locally sourced produce is used wherever possible and there are choices from light snacks to 3 course options. Seasonal hours apply so please call if unsure. The Loft is set on a working farm with farm walks and has an activity centre and Wigwam campsite on site too. Hope we see you soon.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An excellent bistro”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The bistro is a real gem to find by the East Grange Campsite where we spent the night.

The restaurant is clean and well run. The service is friendly and efficient. We noted a family room in use upstairs.

The menu is very appetising and is great value for money considering the hearty size of portions, the fresh ingredients and the care taken over the food - taste and presentation score very highly.

We were very pleased to see that the food was sourced locally for many dishes, for others at least within Scotland.

For main courses we enjoyed Cumberland sausage produced in Forres with onion gravy, mashed potato and freshly cooked vegetables. The other dish was pulled pork sourced from Aberdeenshire, marinated overnight in a home-made marinade, in a burger bun also filled with carrot and apple, served with a rich salad and large helping of crispy, thin, home-cooked fries.

For dessert, an indulgent pavlova with fresh strawberries, raspberries plus yummy vanilla ice cream (home?)-made with vanilla pod and a coffee.

The whole meal with 2 soft drinks, 2 main meals, 1 dessert and 1 coffee - £25.70. Thank you. A great meal and worth coming back and bringing friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgrange, General Manager at The Loft Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your favorable comments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food is great here. We had lunch and dinner and the food is a high quality and very reasonably priced. I came in a group of 25 and not one person didnt like what they had, everyone enjoyed it. The service was quick and staff friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Megs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgrange, General Manager at The Loft Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really glad that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to review and for your very favorable comments. Hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Visited here on a whim lovely setting great staff and well priced lovely food. Will be back and would recommend .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Button1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgrange, General Manager at The Loft Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, hope that we see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location and lovely staff”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We popped in for dinner on our way from Aberdeen to Loch Ness on a Friday evening as we had seen the signs for "the loft bistro" on the main road. It's a little bit off the beaten track but it's a very nice detour from the A96! We were the only two customers when we arrived though another couple arrived later on. The 2 young waitresses were very nice and service was quick and efficient. There was a good selection on the menu and food was reasonably priced and locally sourced. When the food arrived (I got a wild boar and apple burger, my boyfriend got the beefburger) both our dishes were very tasty. All in all a nice place to stop and you can even stay the night there in the attached campsite/"wig wam" rental. Also lots of little activities outside for kids in view of the dining area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowphieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgrange, General Manager at The Loft Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really pleased that you made the detour off the A96 to see us. very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Hopefully we will get to welcome you back on your next "Nessie" adventure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We visited on 9th April for a coffee and to enquire if there were any activities for young children. Turns out that there was a great play area outside with ride on toys for the kids as well as a soft play area inside. Our son aged 5 tried the Water Walkers and absolutely loved it, so much so that he wanted to return the next day. We therefore visited again on 10th April and enjoyed breakfast from the restaurant before our son had another go on the Water Walkers. He also had a go at the Grass Sledging which was great fun. Staff very friendly and nice relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be going back :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgrange, General Manager at The Loft Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really pleased that you had such fun with us and came back for more! Look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Loft Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing