We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative to Chain Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to Chain Hotels”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for a night after picking up our new car in Aberdeen and were delighted with our choice.
This is a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel and benefits from that in their focus on quality of food.
Not to say that the rooms are deficient, just that the real reason for staying here has to be the quality of the menu, the presentation and the enjoyment of the food.
However, like so many hotels/restaurants the mark up on their wine is off-putting and leaves you wondering why an £8 off-licence wine can be worth four times that in a restaurant. It's a practice that borders on disrespect for the customer - but, like I say, it's an all too common practice throughout Scotland and beyond.
But, overall, we'd highly recommend this venue for its comfortable rooms and excellent food for around £200 a night for room, dinner and breakfast - oh, and good parking !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    12
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
112
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a great weekend in the Cluny Bank.
The rooms are very warm, clean and comfortable and the fudge is delicious.
Our dinners were top class. Locally sourced food perfectly cooked. The desserts were mouthwatering. We would love to return and would have no hesitation in recommending Cluny Bank to any one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Without doubt the best food in the area. From the starters to dessert....fabulous. Everything is so fresh. The best of local produce.
You will not be disappointed. Lloyd...what can you say.. a great chef and what a character!
Love it, love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said on there! Super friendly hosts, (the friendliness was infectious) lovely rooms, clean, full of character and amazing food. One thing to mention maybe is the location. My partner and I were looking for somewhere in Scotland where we go out on long walks and see some history without it being an issue to get to without public transport. Forres is perfect. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the station and long pine forest walks and the coast are fairly easily accessible. We enjoyed regular 5 hour walks in the surrounding countryside to earn our superb evening dinner. Cluny use local suppliers for top quality produce and they certainly know how to cook. We stayed over New Year and we'd love to stay again in the future if we have the chance possibly in the long nights of summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Very welcoming hosts: Lloyd is always in high spirit and nothing is too much trouble for him to prepare dishes to your taste. The food is high quality and desserts are simply a dream! We end the evening in the bar where the ambiance is jolly and friendly. Julia provides an impeccable service. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, Loved the delicious fudges in the room and appreciate the bottled water given every night.
This is the friendliest place I've stayed this year and will return next year!

Room Tip: fantastic views from the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys-Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our second visit in 3 months and the quality of the welcome and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms was up to the usual high standard.
Lloyd's cooking is absolutely superb, truly of the highest quality with the finest ingredients and followed by a glass or two in the bar afterwards ends a perfect day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Lloyd, the host and chef, was extremely welcoming and enthusiastic. His lovely wife was a great hostess and bartender. Our room on the ground floor was a bit musty, with an electric air freshener plugged in that we immediately removed. The location of the place is good, within walking distance of several good restaurants. We did eat dinner here one night, food was well prepared but a little heavy for my taste.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room upstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
10.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Property: The Cluny Bank Hotel
Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing