We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay and fantastic dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is a gorgeous old granite building. The room is tastefully decorated and clean. We had the McGregor room which faces the garden/greenery. At dinner, we had the delicious tangy homemade tomato soup and fillet steak for the main course. The steak was done to perfection and served with a generous portion of side vegetables. For dessert, Lloyd, the owner/chef himself explained passionately every dessert that was on offer. The choice we made was the best dessert we'd had on our trip. Fresh strawberries and spiced rhubarb served with lavender ice-cream and a slice of beautiful homemade ginger shortbread. Lloyd who is very friendly & funny guy, is clearly very passionate about food and his cooking and as a result we had the most delicious dinner. The service during dinner was also superb! Breakfast was also top notch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was looking for a room in Aberdeen but due to the oil conference this hotel some 75 miles away was the closest but I wasn't disappointed!
On arrival we were greeted by the owner who very pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and made a nice change from the rooms in larger chains.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar but walked to Forres to eat which was a pleasant stroll!
All round a friendly and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is run by a very engaging chef cum host. The room was excellent with pleasant views across the gardens. Some welcoming home made sweets and mineral water provided complimentary.

The menu for the evening meal was well explained by the chef and contained some combinations of food that I have not seen before. The cooking and service were excellent.

The breakfast also lived up to my now high expectations.

Very enjoyable and recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Had they the availability I would have stayed longer!
Professional reception -I was expected paperwork and key prepared .
Escorted to my room with all amenities pointed out.
Excellent hospitality - food superb!
-And Locally sourced !
No complaints what ever
You pay for what you get plus you receive service with a smile and in addition a first rate chef !
Book ahead as always busy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotFlyingToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cluny Bank Hotel overnight as a little treat to ourselves while the kids were staying with their Grandparents and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lloyd and Julia were amazing hosts and we were properly looked after. Dinner was fantastic (even with a couple of other guests that didn't know how to use their 'inside voices') and the rooms and other guest areas were clean, smart and comfortable. If I was being really picky I would say that the breakfast wasn't quite up to scratch (appeared a bit heated up rather than fresh) but that might be just in comparison to the amazing dinner the night before!

That said, would definitely stay there again if we get the opportunity and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We recently took a family trip around Scotland, and decided to include a visit to Forres so we could experience a Highland Games... Are we ever glad we chose to stay at Cluny Bank Hotel!

Julie and Lloyd were absolutely fantastic, making our family feel welcome. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, the property clean and well kept, and the food was absolutely delicious! If we find ourselves in the Forres area again, I would not hesitate to stay at Cluny Bank again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and can say I would return for personal break. The food is its most outstanding feature with Michelin starred quality at incredibly reasonable prices. The service is also outstanding. The couple who own the hotel are extremely inviting and can cheer you up after a rough day.
There is a superb range of drinks and the hotel is kept superbly clean and has a lovely feel about it.
I was put up in a large double room with a single room inside it. The bathroom was large and well equipped. I can find nothing to complain about here.
I would say though if you can not get a room as they are extremely busy, do go and book a table.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch3r33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
261 reviews
10.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
264 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
449 reviews
21.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range: £118 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing