We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best secret at Speyside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best secret at Speyside”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great food. Comfy rooms with great characters, great hospitality. Great bar selections. Within 30 minutes driving distance, you have access to major Speyside whiskey distilleries and golf courses. Inverness is within a accessible range. Great place to stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank szachko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    13
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
120
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great hotel! Unbelievable food! Lovely people!

I was fortunate enough to spend 10wks at the Cluny Bank whilst working in the area. Although working away from home both Lloyd and Julia worked tirelessly to make this a home away from home.

Rooms are clean, spacious and equipped with everything you would need for your stay.

The food is something special...expect Michelin Star quality with a homely service. Lloyd is a fantastic chef and takes pride in everything he delivers to your table. (ps I'm still waiting on my recipes...)

I will definitely be booking a return stay at the Cluny Bank.

Massive thanks again to Lloyd and Julia - I hope you're both well!

Cheers
Dave

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave_stewart_sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Warm welcome when we arrived by Lloyd & Julia and a wonderful box of homemade fudge! The room was spacious and absolutely lovely! The bed was HUGE, complimentary bottled water, and lots of little details to ensure we were comfortable. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the most relaxing part of our journey through Scotland on the Whiskey Trail at Cluny Bank. Highly recommend dining at Franklyn's, it is a culinary experience you will remember! Lloyd is a gem and truly embodies hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cece1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A lovely warm welcome from the owners, lovely big room with ensuite bath and shower, absolutely fantastic food and great atmosphere throughout our stay. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting a warm welcome and extra special food. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofBurnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Cavanagh room which is on the first floor overlooking the front garden.

The room was very spacious, with a large (very comfortable) bed, fireplace and sitting area.

The room was filled with nice touches: free wi-fi (good strength), complimentary local bottled water (replaced each day), delicious fudge and tea & coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was a great size with a lovely large tub and separate shower. The towels were soft and fluffy. The good quality Scottish bath products were another nice touch.

Breakfasts were delicious and consisted of a continental buffet (a lot of choice) and an a la carte menu of egg dishes (with a lot of options including all required to make a full Scottish if desired!).

We dined in Franklin’s restaurant (the hotel’s restaurant) on 2 evenings. We had originally intended to dine there on our fist night but the food was so good we ended up with 3 courses on both nights! A particular highlight was chef Lloyd appearing at the table each night to run through the dessert options.

There is also a cosy bar where you can start your evening (peruse the menu over a glass of wine before moving into the restaurant) and finish with a dram of a local Benromach single malt (they have quite a collection of Forres’ Benromach).

The location of the hotel is just outside of Forres, a short 2 minute drive to the town’s main street, High St, which could also be a nice walk (about 15 minutes mostly through the park). High St has a number of pubs and cafes.

Forres is a good base to explore the speyside area. Elgin and Findhorn are a short 10 – 15 minute drive. Dufftown is a 40 minute drive. Outside of the speyside district, Balmoral Castle & grounds is a 90 minute drive and Drumnadrochit (on Loch Ness) is only 1 hours away.

Lloyd and Jules were fantastic hosts. We had a great time here and have been finding ourselves fondly reminiscing about our stay since. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Cavanagh room has lots of space and a nice view on to the front garden. The Davies room is recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This has been the most comfortable stay thus far in Scotland. The room is spacious, period style and has a great bathroom with fantastic service and friendly staff. The wi-fi is reliable and the atmosphere relaxing.

Room Tip: We were in the Cavernaugh Suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A wonderful place to rest and spend some time on your journey. We were on our travels from Sydney, and spent a wonderful evening at the hotel sampling Lloyd's wonderful food and hospitality. If nothing else, definitely have dinner here. I smile every time I think about it. Thanks again to Lloyd and Jools for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pukkasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
252 reviews
10.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
241 reviews
10.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
327 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Property: The Cluny Bank Hotel
Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing