We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vladyslav Vladyslav
Odesa, Ukraine

Fantastic experience

Review of Ramnee Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2024
It was fantastic. Really courteous staff. Room was so cozy and bright. Large selection of interesting and tasty food. I loved it. I wish you to experience the same. Will come again later.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    0.1 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    0.5 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    1.7 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £285
    • Expedia.com
      £311
    2.8 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Gamrie Lodge
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    3.5 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    3.2 miles from Ramnee Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.9 miles from Ramnee Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      £104
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      0.4 miles from Ramnee Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Bar/Lounge
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      4.1 miles from Ramnee Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Glamping Pod
      £105
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        £105
      5.5 miles from Ramnee Hotel
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Forres
      Reviews (346)
      Filter reviews
      346 results
      Traveller rating
      149
      114
      50
      17
      16
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      149
      114
      50
      17
      16
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews dog friendly hotel bit dated wedding reception four poster bed beautiful grounds steak first class excellent food an evening meal warm welcome receptionist menu chef dogs character delight highlands
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 346 reviews
      Reviewed 19 April 2024

      Our experience at Ramnee Hotel was fantastic. Thanks to its prime location, comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great facilities.

      The service is impeccable, with staff going above and beyond to meet the needs of guests. The staff handle everything efficiently and with a smile. Room service is prompt, and the restaurant offers delicious meals with a diverse menu to suit all tastes. The level of service at Ramnee Hotel is truly outstanding.

      The rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed, providing a comfortable stay for guests. The beds are particularly comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep after a long day of sightseeing.

      The staff are exceptional, providing a really great service with a friendly and welcoming attitude. From the moment of check-in to departure, guests are made to feel valued and well taken care of. The housekeeping staff also deserve praise for their attention to detail and maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms.

      I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Forres.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Catalina S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 April 2024

      What a hospitable place! We received a warm and friendly welcome from the proprietors. This is a charming and unspoilt old hotel, with welcoming public spaces - gorgeous tartan carpeted bar - and coffee room. The food and drink was excellent and we are given to understand that some the produce is grown by the hotel itself, for example in a parsnip soup. We will certainly go again.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank mlsjudd
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 April 2024

      Very much enjoyed my stay at the Ramnee, and good to come back! I highly recommend this warm, hospitable hotel. The staff were friendly, the room clean, the evening meal very good, as was the breakfast with the hot plate and unlimited coffee. Can’t fault it.

      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank MrConrad
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 April 2024

      "Classic Room" 209 was anything but. Filthy, the room needed a good clean. Windows dirty. All the paintwork was chipped, chair had a split on the back corner. The divan base was badly stained. Breakfast was poor, black pudding and haggis had been cut so thinly when it was cooked it fell to pieces, cold beans and mushrooms.

      Room tip: Yeah don't book a classic room
      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank rogere706
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

      We apologised at the time that on this occasion things were not up to speed in a few places and we offered you a different room at reception and this was turned down. This was the next day. As we explained we are incredibly popular and busy as the only four star hotel left in Forres. However 6 classic rooms had new ensuite floorings this week (including this one). We agreed your beans and mushrooms could have been hotter and we did replace whole new breakfast on a hotter plate. If you read all feedback, we have a loyal and hardworking staff, which is recognised time and again, otherwise people would not come back. We have started refurbishing rooms again with a contractor but it will take time as we financially recover from the pandemic (yes, still!!). On your checkout day, everybody else was smiling and content with their breakfast and stay. I feel the room may have escaped housekeeping in one or two places, but a new room would have substantially solved this.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 15 November 2023

      I am a writer. I wanted a 10-day personal retreat in a relatively remote part of Scotland (a meditative environment to shape my next book). I chose this hotel in Forres because of its proximity to Findhorn.

      I just wanted peace and solitude, no hassles, no distractions– and a desk to work at, with broadband access.

      The Ramnee Hotel was perfect. It’s a beautiful old mansion, with period interiors and a wonderful ambience. Even the car park and the grounds added to that peaceful, calm atmosphere (which seems detached from the 21st Century with all of its stresses).

      It was freezing (outside) when I was there, but the interior of the hotel was warm, and the radiator in my room always seemed to be hot (not turned off in the night).

      I had dinner in the bar nearly every single night, and never got bored of the menu. Breakfast was also varied and very good (I should know – I had it ten times).

      But the best feature of this hotel was the staff – across the board. From the front desk to the breakfast room to the bar staff to housekeeping – I have never stayed in such a friendly place and with such accommodating staff. I really enjoyed my time there and I hope to return there (perhaps in a warmer season).

      Imran Ahmad (unimagined org)

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Passport01778324537
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

      Thank you so much for your kind review! We remember your stay very well since it was indeed ten days (!) and gives you a complete 360 overview of all chefs, all waiting staff and all front desk staff. You would therefore see and experience things that even I would not be aware of! To receive therefore a resounding thumbs up, is heartening and reassuring, that we are indeed delivering on our star rating with Visit Scotland and as you go on to say, providing such a friendly welcome to guests. Our menu aims to go beyond the standard hotel fare of fish and chips and burgers, and we do feel our food offering is imaginative and colourful enough to last a few days, without the need to trek to the darker reaches of the High Street.

      We were delighted to be able to allow you space to write and relax. Do come again soon and it was a total pleasure!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews