We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a regular to Mayfield”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Forres B&B and Inns
Letham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“From a regular to Mayfield”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stay at Mayfield B&B on a regular basis and I love it! I look forward to my work trips to Moray as Mayfield is a real home away from home - Sarah is a fantastic hostess and has a very friendly and warm manner. She is helpful and goes out of her way to accommodate individuals needs and requirements. I would highly recommend Sarah's Mayfield B&B to anyone :)

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrotham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here with family, including youngsters back in November. We were made to feel totally at home. Thank you Sarah for going beyond the call of duty. And to those thinking of staying here, its highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great, large with en suite. One has a rocking horse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is nice B&B with a gracious owner. The rooms were large and well kept with very comfortable beds, and a quiet night's sleep. Sarah was very helpful and served a delicious breakfast. Very convenient for visiting Cawdor Castle. On the down side we found the grounds needing attention. The garden was overgrown, and the flowerpots outside the entrance quite sad. Didn't give a good impression when we first got there, but the B&B itself was clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The hostess, Sarah Hope, is friendly, hospitable, welcoming and accommodating. We were staying in Forres to visit an ill friend, and she provided a supportive and relaxed place for us to return to each evening.
The blue room that we had included a small frig, which Sarah supplied with milk. There was a hot water kettle so we could make tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Each evening we'd come back to a plate of home made cake that Sarah left in our room for us.
The room was cozily decorated and had a sofa and chairs, not just a comfie bed. There was a huge closet. The bathroom was clean and the shower was perfect!
The house itself is a lovely old stone building. Each morning Sarah provided a choice of breakfasts. I had the full English every day! Other choices include oatmeal, or scrambled eggs on toast. There was fresh fruit salad each morning too.
Mayfield is about 1 minute's walk from Forres High Street, across from a beautiful park and woods. It's set back from the road down a drive, so is quiet and private.
We'd highly recommend Mayfield and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdkLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a lovely B & B. A grand house that is homey and welcoming along with being graced by it's owner Sarah's presence who is gracious and quite a talented cook. We could only stay one night but were shown a spacious and very prettily decorated bedroom with it's own bath and large closet. Comfy couch and chairs, tv and a tray set up for tea or coffee and the most scrumptious homemade scones you will ever taste. Sarah has another business selling these if she ever chose to diversify. Small fridge with fresh milk, and bath products and large towels in the bathroom. Really everything thoughtfully supplied. We had a picturesque view of the garden from our window. Restful, and quiet stay with a breakfast again provided by Sarah. My husband and I were marveling at the homemade jams and of course those scones! Very, very fresh and clean and we loved being greeted by her two dogs, Max and Darwin and the new kitten. Overall a great value and find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoJoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

If I had to think of the best b&b in the UK, then Sarah's Mayfield would be right up there in the top two! And that is UK wide, over years of travel! Sarah makes you feel at home. The rooms are always spotless and the supplies (towels etc) are of exceptional quality. And yet the room prices are low, which means great value for money.

I have great memories of every time we stayed at Sarah's, no matter whether at the Nethercroft cottage or at the Mayfield. In addition, Sarah often recommended great little businesses in Forres and always helped us whenever we needed.

If you are after a nice break, then this is perfect for you. Maybe have dinner at the Cluny Bank hotel and you are set for an unforgettable experience! Top notch!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groom-Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The tone of your stay is set by owner, Sarah, who is gracious and makes you feel like a personal guest in her home. The room I stayed in was warm and cozy, with a huge closet, hair dryer, coffee pot, tv, free wi fi and my room had a window that overlooked the garden. Although there were several breakfast choices, I couldn't resist the yummy scones. I will definitely stay at Mayfield on my next visit to Forres.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_native01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.1 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
9.7 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
13.6 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mayfield Bed and Breakfast
Address: Mayfield Victoria Road, Forres IV36 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield is a traditional stone built house. (1821) We have 3 rooms for bed and breakfast. 2 King sized en suite and 1 twin en suite. Mayfield is set back from the main road down a little lane, which means that despite being only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Forres, with a variety of local shops and restaurants, we are in a quiet location. Each room has a small fridge, wifi , TV, and tea and coffee making facilities. There are comfortable chairs/sofa in the rooms and plenty of space to relax. We have ample off street parking, and will happily cater for special dietary requirements if you let us know in advance. Breakfast is cooked to order, but whilst you wait there is always fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals and bread to toast to your liking. We are close to many golf courses. Across the road is the beautiful Grant Park, where in 2014/15 the European Pipe Band Championships will be held. In 2013 there were approximately 135 pipe bands taking part in the championship.Ideally situated for day trips to dolphin watch at Spey Bay, or Chanonry Point, or alternatively visit a few castles on the famous Castle Trail, or distilleries on the Whisky Trail. Or if peace and quiet suits you then Culbin and Roseisle forests are only a few miles from us.We are only 5 miles from the beautiful sea side village of Findhorn and therefor The Findhorn Community. Open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayfield Bed And Breakfast Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing