We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying Visit To Smuggler's .....”
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Lossiemouth
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

A group of us stopped in here for a couple of sociable pints on what was a memorable day's drinking.

Ideally located on the doorstep of Lossiemouth's East Beach, we sampled both the internal and external seating to take in some of the views. I definitely felt comfortable throughout my stay.

The draught pints were part of a fine selection of world 'Beers', the atmosphere was quiet but very inviting (peaceful), the staff were friendly and the cost of the rounds, although slightly expensive, were justifiable as we truly felt that we were in one of the town's more upper market establishments.

Although brief, this was a welcomed one hour stop during our day out. Fun had by all!

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank Rambling_Giant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2020

Location was very good, staff were okay, food was not very good. Pork was over cooked, smoked haddock lasagne contained very little smoked haddock and the Langoustines were over priced. I agree with a previous reviewer that there was only a token effort made regarding Covid safety. We will not be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chazza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Had meal on Saturday evening, sat at outside table waited half an hour for our order to be taken two members of staff seemed more interested in chatting with two regulars at next table, main course (roast of the day-pork ) was ok but a bit tough but served with nice veg and tatties, sweet was much better delicious bannoffie tart with crispy base served with cream and ice cream my partner had lovely sticky toffee pudding which was well enjoyed. Pity about slow service don’t think I would rush back.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

The food was nice and with a varied choice. Some surprisingly good wines on the list. Service was a little slow.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2020

Food and location ok, but only token effort made with regard to Covid. So we won’t be going back in a hurry. You can sit in or out - we chose to sit out. You select your food choice off the board by the door. So at peak times people crowd around this, often unmasked and with little regard to social distancing. Orders must be placed and paid for at the bar. That involves going into the restaurant, round the one-way system but - at peak times - past occupied tables. So social distancing is again difficult. Table service, but staff are not masked.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Steve and Isy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.