We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Bird Menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 1629

The 1629
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Lossiemouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Early Bird Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The new early bird menu is fantastic value, £15 for 3 courses, the menu is smaller but still a good choice and decent portions for the money. Hopefully they keep this menu on for as long as possible as its the best value in town. Will be back to sample it again soon......Keep up the good work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The 1629, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Many thanks for your review.

I am glad to hear feedback on the price and quality of the new menu, and am pleased it is being recieved as well as it is.

I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    107
    50
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moray
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Table d'hôte for Sanctus Valentinus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I remember this place when it first opened. At that time there was a fair amount of competition around, restaurant-wise. Does anyone remember Enricos, the Elizabethan, the Old Mill? Enricos is now a Chinese banqueting emporium; plus ça change!

Over the years, in the 1629, the menu seemed to grow and grow to the point where is took almost as long to read as an oeuvre by Dostoevsky. On one momentous occasion, several years ago, we were the last diners in the place and were finishing off to the sound of the vacuum cleaner!

With this in mind we took a chance, as the day of Sanctus Valentinus drew to a close, to renew our acquaintance with 1629. We were not disappointed! The special, short, table d'hôte menu did the trick.

Well done 1629!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The 1629, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased to hear that we could offer the right choice of foods in the local enviroment that helped make your dinning experience what it should be.

I do have an extensive menu, available to help our patrons enjoy their nights out, and am always pleased to hear the feedback.

Kindest Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good for Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Went on the 3rd February this special is only on from Sunday to Friday until th end of March between 1730hrs and 1930hrs the menu has various starters (5) then various maincourses (5)
then 2 sweets and if you want off the sweet trolly as well the food was delicious and the service could not be faulted well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dondarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at The 1629, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased tyo hear your thoughts on the price, as I am always keen to try and offer the best food for the best price I can, with Local produce.

I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kindest Regads
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portknockie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never Disappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Another lovely meal.

We had different seafood starters and and they were beautiful.
Main courses were very tasty. Nice veg, potatoes and home made chips. Really did not have any room for sweet but seen the sticky pudding being server to another customer and could not resist so shared with my daughter. Staff were very nice and pleasant and eager to help with menu questions.

This was quite a wild night mid week and restaurant was busy and very cosy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AFM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent cosy restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Staying just around the corner we decided one night (valentines night) last minute to see if we could have a table for 6 people. Luckily for us they could accommodate us, wow this place certainly is worth a visit . We sat downstairs and could order from any menu, I have got to say the food was delicious , the service was outstanding,and the bill was exceptionally cheap considering we had 6 starters, mains, and deserts and two bottles of wine plus some beers. Please please if you are visiting lossie give this place a visit is well worth it , we will definitely go back again next time we are in Lossiemouth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zandy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 1629 also viewed

Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 
Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 

Been to The 1629? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing