We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That was some meal splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The 1629

The 1629
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Lossiemouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Lossiemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“That was some meal splendid”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went with the wife on Saturday night the 9th of November booked for 1930hrs drinks before we went through and the waiter took our order I had a cocktail Di Gambretti which was very nice for the main meal we ordered the Chateau Briand De Notre Facon for 2 people ordered medium to well done and it was just perfect 1 little tip do not eat anything before u go as the portions was huge with plenty of vegetables chips, and potatoe balls if u manage to finish it u will be doing very well the service was also excellent as well I don't think u could get any better meal anywhere really worth it thank you 1629

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dondarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    107
    50
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant, good food.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

3 of us had dinner here in late October. We enjoyed the evening and I thought that the price was reasonable for what was being offered. That said, the cooking I would describe as "honest" rather than "gourmet", but I don't think that they are after the gourmet end of the market!

We ate here on a midweek evening at the end of October, and the restaurant was full of diners - so obviously is well liked by locals. Lossiemouth itself does not have many other restaurants, most of what is on offer in the town are takeaways.

Interestingly our waitress was eastern European rather than local Scots. Did not effect my enjoyment of our meal she was very charming, but the British never seem keen on serving in restaurants!

The food was perfectly good, without being memorable. In other words writing this 2 weeks later, I cannot remember what I had.

But if you are in Lossiemouth, and do not wish to venture further afield in an evening then this is the place to go. If you want a change, then you can go to the Caverna, which is owned by the same people in the same building, but more a bistro than a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a family lunch having seen the recommendations on this site. Superb Cullen Skink followed by Roast Beef. Conscientious, friendly service. Will certainly return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 696robm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Some of the best seafood I have ever tasted has come from this restaurant and continues to be of a high standard after my many visits, will continue to dine here for a long time

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“relaxed meal in high standard location.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

wide choice of superbly prepared dishes- backed up with very good wine, I have been to cheaper restaurants- but not of this standard.. a very pleasant experience and recommended to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyclopsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 1629 also viewed

Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 
Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 

Been to The 1629? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing