We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lynne C
Kendal, United Kingdom

Beautiful house with lots of history, one to watch

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jun 2021
We stayed here 2 nights and couldn't fault our welcome and such helpful suggestions on what to do in Lossiemouth (we only had 1 day) by Alison. She asked us what we were interested in, then gave us options, maps, hand-written notes. We followed all her suggestions and had a fabulous day as a result. Stayed in the deluxe suite, which is is undergoing improvements. Alison & Hugh only took over just before the first lockdown and their plans of improvement had to be put on pause. So far in the deluxe bedroom they've added an amazing SUPER-KINGsize bed, there's also a lovely sofa. It's a lovely sunny light and high-ceilinged room, very spacious, with long curtains and bay window cushions all in matching yellow/golds. The bathroom is about to get a major upgrade as it's currently looking dated. This room and the rest of the house will look so much better once Alison's improvements get a chance to be put into motion, room by room. Really recommend Lossiemouth House - Alison is the perfect 'front-of-house' very warm and welcoming.
Date of stay: June 2021
Room Tip: All rooms are undergoing post-Covid improvements, but can recommend the Deluxe ensuite
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review - we enjoyed hosting you both. You'll be pleased to know that the bathroom is fully refurbished and looking pretty fab, we even managed to double the size of the shower . We do hope that you get the opportunity to return.
All the very best
Alison and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stotfield Hotel, Lossiemouth
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £123
    • Hotels.com
    0.5 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £95
    • Hotels.com
    0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free Wifi
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    • Agoda.com
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    View more hotels in Lossiemouth
    Reviews (107)
    Filter reviews
    107 results
    Traveller rating
    83
    22
    2
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    83
    22
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews breakfast was delicious luxury toiletries dual aspect homemade shortbread definitely worth a visit friendly hosts town centre porridge lovely house fabulous stay local knowledge local area comfortable room one night stay few minutes walk full scottish breakfast perfect location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    28 - 33 of 107 reviews
    Reviewed 13 May 2021

    I suppose the title of the review says it all. With Alison’s warm welcome and Hugh’s culinary skills it is a match “made in heaven”. Twist their arm for an evening meal.....or two...and you will be pleasantly surprised. That , together with a great room, ideal position in the town, off road parking and a wonderful breakfast makes for a nearly perfect B&B.......swimming pool...?...lol. .......a great time was had by all.
    ..

    Date of stay: May 2021
    1  Thank Eddie W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

    Dear Eddie and Sheila
    Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we absolutely loved hosting you both and hearing your comical stories. I love the idea of a pool, maybe one day! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House again
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 November 2020

    From the second I turned up Hugh and Alison were the most perfect hosted , they had home made cakes for the guests ,the breakfast was gorgeous, and all locally sourced. the rooms were very clean and well decorated, I would highly recommend anyone to stay there , I will definitely stay again

    Date of stay: November 2020
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank I-Latimer1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

    Dear Ian
    Thank you so much for your very kind review, we loved hosting you and look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 October 2020

    We stayed at Lossiemouth House for just one night and were greeted by the really friendly Alison and Hugh, who were perfect hosts. The house is lovely and our room was massive, clean with a great view of the garden. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Alison had also made some yummy banana and choc brownies for us to have with a cuppa after a long day of driving, perfect. The house is situated just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and some local restaurants so a perfect location. Highly recommend

    Date of stay: September 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank PenelopeCrayon13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

    Dear Penny
    Thank you so much for your lovely kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Let's hope that next time you are both here you will be able to stay for longer.
    Thank you for supporting us this year
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 October 2020

    We had the pleasure of staying at Lossiemouth House during the wonderful September of the Covid 19 year when the weather was at its best and the setting sun shimmered over the estuary - a couple of hundred yards from this haven of a B and B run expertly by Alison and Hugh. We were there for a couple of nights as we toured the Highlands and things couldn't have been better for us. The couple knew the area intimately and were happy to share their knowledge and point us in the right direction for great food - again a couple of hundred yards away - and the local junk shop!
    The room was cleaned and refreshed every day, with new mug and milk etc
    We weren't aware until we were leaving that we could have had dinner at the house, as Hugh is a chef of some renown, having cooked for a huge range of people from commoners like what we are, to kings of near-eastern countries. The next time we stay at Lossiemouth House, we'll make a point of sampling his cuisine and if its a perfect as the rest of the things on offer, it'll be memorable!.
    Thank you so much, both of you.

    Date of stay: September 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank BarryJohn4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

    Dear Barry and John
    Wow, thank you very much for your lovely and kind review. We absolutely loved hosting you both and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and touring our beautiful area.
    We certainly are very lucky to be able to witness such glorious sunrises and sunsets.
    I'm so pleased to see that you have booked to stay with us again, this is wonderful and we would be delighted to be able to cook an evening meal for you. Looking forward to seeing you soon
    Many thanks
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2020

    Alison and Hugh couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfasts, I can highly recommend the porridge and the full Scottish!
    Great accommodation, we would definitely stay there again.

    Date of stay: July 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank paulinehM6182IR
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

    Dear Pauline
    Thank you so much for lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
    All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lossiemouth House soon

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews