We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tom

Absolutely fantastic

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2023via mobile
Would have given 6 stars if possible, had a absolutely fantastic time staying 3 nights at Lossiemouth House. Alison & Hugh are fantastic friendly hosts. They gave us so much information & help during our 3 days staying with them, from lending us their map book setting us up on a “Northern lights” app, telling us places to visit, how to get there via the scenic routes & where to eat. The breakfasts were to die for, no surprise as Alison & Hugh are Chef’s, I fully recommend the full Scottish breakfast including the best Black pudding I’ve ever tasted, the eggs are full of flavour & Hugh’s home made fruit conserves are fab.
Alison upgraded our room on our arrival which was spacious clean & had a walk in shower & unbelievable toiletries, the whisky & water shower gel, WOW.
Lossiemouth house has a great history attached to it, Ask Alison & Hugh, also ask Hugh who he has worked & cooked for!!.
Can’t thank Alison & Hugh enough for their kindness & fab hospitality, Lossiemouth House is definitely the place to stay at.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Lossiemouth House has parking for 5 cars, free WiFi
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this review
Responded 5 Jun 2023
Oh my, what a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write this, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lossiemouth House - we love discovering new places to visit in this wonderful area and then sharing them.

We only ever buy Stornoway Black Pudding (which is considered to be the best!) and are glad that you enjoyed it. All of our eggs are bought from a local farm too, having that lovely bright orange yolk.

We very much hope that you will able to visit again soon

Many thanks and all the best
Alison and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stotfield Hotel, Lossiemouth
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £129
    • Hotels.com
    0.5 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £97
    • Hotels.com
    0.4 miles from Lossiemouth House
    Free Wifi
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    • Agoda.com
    1.9 miles from Lossiemouth House
    View more hotels in Lossiemouth
    Reviews (107)
    Filter reviews
    107 results
    Traveller rating
    83
    22
    2
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    83
    22
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews breakfast was delicious luxury toiletries dual aspect homemade shortbread definitely worth a visit friendly hosts town centre porridge lovely house fabulous stay local knowledge local area comfortable room one night stay few minutes walk full scottish breakfast perfect location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 107 reviews
    Reviewed 2 March 2023

    Loved staying in this house and learning about the history of it. Alison and Hugh were very friendly and welcoming. Room was spotless and cosy, special mention goes to the lovely toiletries and home made shortbread.
    Location is great, just a few minutes walk to the beach and restaurants / bars. Breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend and return for another visit.

    Date of stay: February 2023
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank B2then2theg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Lossiemouth House, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2023

    Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2023

    Really nice hotel and location. Hugh and Alison are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and modern. The breakfasts are amazing and if you need any information about the local area to plan your day then they will be more than happy to help.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Philip C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

    Dear Phil
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, it's very much appreciated. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House soon
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 December 2022

    Fabulous hosts. The historic building is lovely, with an exceptional breakfast menu. Hugh and Alison make sure you have a fantastic time.
    Hugh is a first class chef having cooked for the great and the good during his career. Hugh is only to happy to produce a first class, restaurant standard evening meal on request.
    I can’t wait for my next visit.

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Thank DavidG10165
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

    Dear David
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House soon
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 October 2022

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lossiemouth House.
    We really appreciated all the effort that Alison and Hugh go to to provide such an excellent service.
    The food is delicious and having the coffee / tea facilities and yummy home made shortbread in the room is a real treat.
    Lots of shampoos and toiletries also go a long way to make you feel really welcome.
    The local knowledge and help with restaurants was really good and we really enjoyed the 2 we ate in.

    There is absolutely nothing I could suggest for any improvement to add to our wonderful visit.

    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 1moray
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

    Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House soon
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 October 2022

    We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay at Lossiemouth House - the warm, friendly welcome; the beautiful, spotlessly clean historic building and the quiet, comfortable room.

    Our breakfast was delicious, and we were very impressed with all the choices available. 

    We would love to visit again sometime in the future, and would definitely recommend this guest house to our friends.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank lesleycC927KZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Alison Taylor, Owner at Lossiemouth House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

    Dear Lesley
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely kind review, we really do appreciate it.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to Lossie House soon
    All the best
    Alison and Hugh

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews