We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair braw” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galley

The Galley
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Lossiemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fair braw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We use this chip shop a couple of times a month, all the food is cooked to order so expect a wee big of waiting time, or you can phone your order in for collection or delivery. Jeff is great a cooking the fish, 'delicious'. If your a local or visitor the GLley is a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Favourite chipper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Been coming to the chipper for years as my Granda lives in Lossie. The service is always prompt and friendly and the fish is always perfect!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank boaglife23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite Lossie chip shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Consistent and tasty offerings served up quick by friendly owners and staff. If I could take away every night... :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JJL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the known universe!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a fantastic chippy! As an english man emigrating to Scotland came with its challenges (finding a pint of "mild" and getting my mind around being called "Ken") are just two!
Having left the land of fish and chips behind my mourning began for that ancient English delicacy.
After what feels like a life time of searching I have finally found it! The holy grail of chippys in Scotland.

The galley in Lossiemouth. Fantastic food cooked to order (no soggy batter, Englishman hate soggy batter!), great chips and world beating mushy peas!

If you're around Lossiemouth (or even if you're not!) this is THE place for fish and chips.

Topped off by being owned and run my a fellow immigrant Englishman this place really is a jewel in the crown!

Do NOT miss out!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

On this and our previous visit to the area, we went to the Gallery as it was near where we stayed and the weather wasn't great meaning we didn't have to venture out too far.
Top quality suppers served in a friendly atmosphere.
The chips are particularly good - better then most chippies we've been too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottie_Bairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley also viewed

Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 
Lossiemouth, Moray
Lossiemouth, Moray
 

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing