We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts!”
Review of Eastbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I loved this hotel. Much much better than most of the upscale hotels in big cities. Rooms are simple. There is a shared bathroom. And there is plenty of whisky!

But most importantly, the owners make this stay a fantastic experience. I was eating my eggs&bacon and I still have bacon left on the plate while I'd already finished the eggs - the owner came by said with a Scottish accent "you need to eat more lad!" and ordered the cook to prepare more eggs.

Both me and my spouse were just positively shocked with such hospitality. She really likes to take care of her guests! I've taken some business cards when we were checking out and I gave them to some friends that like whisky because Rothes is a good starting location for distillery trips.

I miss this place and can't wait to find another opportunity to go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couple1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

What can I say....106 different whiskeys and some of the most accomodating owners I've experienced.

I too was one of the 8 on the Queens Jubilee Stag Weekend to Rothes tour referenced by Paul J in the below review, and a second his comments totally! They arranged transport at all times of the day to and from the airport, to various distilleries throughout the day, and even organised fishing licence for the Sunday morning.

A great place to stay as a small or larger group, and I wouldn't hesitate booking in with my family on a separate trip in the future.

***MANY THANKS***

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed at the Eastbank during the Queen's Jubilee weekend as part of a stag party of 8. I cannot say enough good things about the Eastbank. The rooms were spacious and clean and the shower was great (an absolute must when clearing a whisky hangover!!)

We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night and I have to say the steak was one of the best I have ever tasted (and I have tasted a lot!) Breakfast was huge. A full Scottish breakfast with all the trimmings. The 8 of us couldn't finish the banquet we were served on both mornings.

But the most endearing feature about the Eastbank is the staff. As the organiser of the stag party, they made my life so easy. There was nothing they couldn't do for us. They confirmed our distillery bookings for us, sorted out fishing, arranged transport for the weekend (including driver), opened the bar for us whenever we needed it, provided local knowledge.... the list genuinely goes on. They also supported us through our weekend's challenge of consuming all 106 (!!) whiskies in their bar (yes, we did it!!)

I want to say a huge thank-you to Sue, Maureen, Arthur, Kathy, Lisa and all the team at the Eastbank for making the stag weekend truly memorable.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for perfect hospitality at an affordable price in Speyside!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We enjoyed our whisky adventure and we were welcomed well by the hosts. The breakfast was really good and we hope to come back soon.
Family Hennes

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hennes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was in Rothes 9 years ago! Maureen is the greatest person I know in my life! I miss you mom... Love you!!! I put the date 2011 because Idont heve more options...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Eastbank Hotel was the second stop of our whisky tour of Scotland, such a beatiful location, perfect care and attention. We have to share the rooms within and share the WC /showers with others, but we don't complain. The food was excellent examples of Scottish food, the bar stays open late and there were 100 different types of whisky for us to enjoy. Good food, drinks, music, friendly atmosphere. Sue and Maureen, you are great people, we will visit you again, but this time we will bring our families, as promised...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dergener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A very warm welcome, unbooked lunch cheefully provided, excellent facilities. !st class evening meal , over a 100 whiskies to chose from in the small but friendly bar. Quite close to /glenfiddich distillery (worth visithing).

Room Tip: advance booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shula1517, Manager at Eastbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Hi Trevor, thanks for your lovely comments. All the staff send their regards. please come back and visit us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothes
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
8.9 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
299 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbank Hotel

Address: 15 High Street, Rothes AB38 7AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Rothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothes
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eastbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbank Hotel Rothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing