We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Scottish Hospitality”
Review of Eastbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Spey valley and its river walks are beautiful, and we were fortunate to stay at this hotel. One of us has a wheelchair, and there is a dedicated room and others, quiet, comfortable and well equipped on the ground floor. The food was lovely with a wide choice, and the bar a Whisky dream-with all the rest as well.
But best of all was the hospitality...we were made to feel so at home by proprietors and staff who organised a trip around a local distillery for us. Thank you all

Room Tip: Try the old bank building conversion-modern rooms with the huge vault door still in situ in the corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David21646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Eastbank for two nights. Maureen and her staff made my son and I feel as though we were part of the family. Helpful, gracious and accomodating at every turn. Our room, at the front facing street level, while somewhat noisy with traffic, was large and adequately comfortable. Needs a new mattress on the second bed. The meals (breakfast and dinner) were quite tasty. The bar areas, where locals and guests congregate was a lot of fun and we met some new and interesting friends. Many thanks to Emma for making us feel like old friends. Ideally located for distillery tours in the Speyside region, with Glen Grant distillery a short walk. I would would definately stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from room on the roadside........noisy with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at eastbank.

The staff was more than helpful and Cathy made us an unbelievable breakfast.
The room was very spacious and the bathroom was gigantic which was very convenient.

It is within a few minutes drive of the scotch distillery but thats about it. There is nothing else to do in Rothes. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was going back to the Rothes area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 942ericf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for a few nights and found everything great. We had a large double room at the back next to the original safe which was amazing to look at. The staff helped with anything we needed, even the locals in the bar were great fun. When we were supposed to go out and meet friends, we ended up drinking in the bar and not going out!
My only recommendations would be to put a shelf up in the bathroom for toiletries and have a mirror near the window for ladies to put on makeup. Not major issues though. Thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Haze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It was more by accident that we dropped by this lovely hotel. As soon as we walked through that door we felt welcome and in the evening there was a nice gathering at the hotel bar (which contains 100+ Single malts at very reasonable prices).
Also the staff and the regulars where very wellcoming and friendly, so that we shared a great night there.
Special thanks to Rob and Maureen hereby, Lukas

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Eastbank Hotel in Rothes on July 26 & 27, 2013.
The room was extremely large and spotless clean.

All of the staff are very friendly and make you feel at home and welcome with each conversation.
The service and food is top notch. I would highly recommend the Angus cake with custard for dessert.

I will gladly return if I am in the Rothes area for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Eastbank hotel was great, the breakfast was marvelous, and the staff was super friendly. Six of us reserved 3 rooms - one three person and shared bathroom, and two twins. I personally stayed in the three-person room, which was pretty big and comfortable. This came with a shared bathroom in the hallway, but that (luckily) wasn't an issue. The only problem we might've had (if we weren't so jetlagged) was that our window faced the road and that there's always trucks driving by (to and from the distilleries) throughout the night. But, there's really nothing you can do about that, and besides, it won't be a problem if you've had enough whisky.

The locations perfect - just a brisk walk to any of the local distilleries. Parking is also a super easy, since there's a lot across the street. The bar has 100+ whiskies for you to try, some of which are from distilleries that aren't in existence anymore. Liam, the bartender, is always good for a story and an opinion of which whisky to have next.

But for us, the breakfast is what made our stay. Beans, eggs, toast, bacon, sausage - that's part of a standard scottish breakfast and hard to tell the great from just good. But, the haggis and black pudding! It was the first thing i ate in scotland, and it's what i remember the most. If we were ever to come back to the speyside region, we'd definitely stay at eastbank again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johny940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothes
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
229 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
272 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
8.9 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
307 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbank Hotel

Address: 15 High Street, Rothes AB38 7AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Rothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothes
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Eastbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbank Hotel Rothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing