We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”
Review of Cherry Orchard

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cherry Orchard
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This little cafe, tucked away by Spar in West Kilbride, isn't bad but could be so much better. The staff did their job but no more. They were not unfriendly but not friendly either. My friend felt uncomfortable at the way they stared at her (not sure why, it didn't happen anywhere else on our travels) throughout our time there. The menu is ok, the food is good but the atmosphere is a little lacking. Wouldn't put myself out to return and would probably find somewhere else if I was in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Majeroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food lovely but....”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Had a nice lunch and would probably have visited again but the staff were very unwelcoming. A smile would have made such a difference.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Invisable”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went to the Cherry Orchard after a visit to the local cemetery. We stood for 10 minutes and were totally ignored by the two members of staff present , one of whom was flitting about doing not much, the other was sitting, reading the paper and clearly didn't want to be disturbed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy77
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I felt the Cherry Orchard was let down by the waiting staff, who displayed a could'nt care less attitude, which puts me off returning.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Cherry Orchard”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This bistro in the centre of West Kilbride is tucked between the Post Office and the Spar in Orchard Street. The wide windows belie the warm interior where the staff are friendly. Nobody ever feels rushed or unwelcome. The food fresh and tasty and the home made soups, scones and cakes are all delicious. The locals support the bistro well throughout the day. This is always a good sign. Whether it be for a breakfast roll and coffee to go; a relaxed coffee and scone mid-morning to put the world to rights; a delicious light lunch; afternoon tea and a piece of cake or an evening meal taking advantage of the reasonable corkage charges: this is a local little gem. The worst kept secret in the village!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherry Orchard also viewed

West Kilbride, North Ayrshire
West Kilbride, North Ayrshire
 
West Kilbride, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Cherry Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing